## **Board of Chiropractic & Massage Therapy Examiners**

#### **General Session**

# September 8, 2016 Approved October 13, 2016

### **Members Present**

Jonathan Nou, DC, *President*Robert Frieman, DC, *Vice President*Gregory Lewis, DC, *Secretary*Michael Fedorczyk, DC, *Fmr. President*David Cox, LMT, *Fmr. Vice President*Ernestine Jones Jolivet, *Fmr. Secretary*Karen Biagiotti, LMT
Gloria Boddie Epps, *Consumer Member* 

Gwenda Harrison, LMT Kindra Ingram, DC

Michael Moskowitz, DC

### **Non-Members Present**

Laurie Sheffield-James, Executive Director
Adrienne Congo, MS, Deputy Director
Grant D. Gerber, AAG, Board Counsel
Kimberly B. Link, JD, Compliance Manager
Kristen Neville, DHMH
Tara G. McManaway, CSM
Alana Poulson, LMT
Regina Schneider, CJIT
Paul Aboshi, DC, MCA

Dr. Nou called the meeting to order at 10:15am.

# I. Review/Approval of Agenda – following changes Approved:

- Discipline Review Committee omitted.
- Additions to FYI re: committee meetings.
- New Member Orientation information moved from New Business to FYI.

# II. Review/Approval Minutes from August 11, 2016 meeting – Approved.

### III. Old Business

- Massage therapy renewal update by Adrienne Congo, Deputy Director:
  - IT issues related to the separation of the boards have been resolved;
  - Following up with current LMTs re: CPR; New massage therapy board will need to address "provider- level" vs. basic CPR requirement and clarification of online/in person training.

#### IV. New Business – *None*.

### V. **FYI-** Laurie Sheffield-James. Executive Director

A. New board member orientation to be held November 14, 2016. Those who attend may earn CEU credit. No word yet on the name(s) of new MT board members. New MT board meetings will be held on the fourth Wednesday of each month.

- B. James Gamble, Admin. Specialist, has resigned.
- C. Human Trafficking Task Force meeting scheduled September 16, 2016 at Howard County Police Dept.
- D. Committee meeting(s) update:
  - 1. Secretary Mitchell to hold meeting with executive directors re: new management committee for licensing boards;
  - 2. Workgroup established to discuss impact of North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners v. FTC; first meeting of workgroup Sept. 13, 2016. Two DHMH executive directors are members of the workgroup. LJS will attend workgroup meetings as an audience member and will the Board informed.
- E. Executive Director, Laurie Sheffield-James, thanked board members for their hard work and patience particularly during the transition period. Dr. Fedorczyk presented Certificates of Recognition to departing board members; Dr. Nou, Ernestine Jones Jolivet, Karen Biagiotti, LMT, David Cox, LMT, Gwenda Harrison, LMT.
- F. New licensees/registrants for August 2016.

### 1. Chiropractic

Date Issued	License/Registration	Name
08/24/2016	S03891	Daniel Johns
08/25/2016	S03892	Charles Cho
08/25/2016	S03893	Evan Kay
08/31/2016	S03894	Dong Guk Kim
08/23/2016	RC1968	Clarice Thompson
08/25/2016	RC1969	Nancy Morales-Perez
08/26/2016	RC1970	Stephanie Black
08/31/2016	RC1971	Jeffrey Welch
	RC1972	Johanna Estrada- Mendoza
	RC1973	Makiba Smith
	RC1974	Karla Amaya Ventura
	RC1975	Margarita Kozyaykina
	RC1976	Karina Abarca
	RC1977	Rebecca Langlois

## 2. Massage Therapy

<b>Date Issued</b>	License/Registration	Full Name
08/25/2016	M05662	Alexander Solomon
	M05663	Sarah Stauffer
	M05664	Kurt Saberg
	M05665	Angela Armstrong
	M05666	Jessica Johnson
	M05667	Colleen Cameron
	M05668	Brandy Harley
08/29/2016	M05669	Hope Brown
08/29/2016	M05670	Joshua Raleigh
08/30/2016	M05671	Kim Yenco
	M05672	Elizabeth Landmann
	M05673	Catherine Copeland
	M05674	Meghan Bowen
	M05676	Jessica Lowery
	M05678	Stephanie Casta-Gomez
	M05679	Kiarnold Smith
08/17/2016	R02506	Adie Olfus
	R02507	Heather Rovecamp
08/22/2016	R02508	Shanelle Pollard
	R02509	Jay David Gabryszak
	R02510	Melissa Gartrell
	R02511	Meryl Poland
08/23/2016	R02512	Carl Davis
	R02513	Jaclyn Watson
08/25/2016	R02514	Clarissa Booker
	R02515	Kristen Patterson
	R02516	Deena Janney
	R02517	Nakita Robinson
	R02518	Rachel Sheffel
08/29/2016	R02519	Phyllis Jordan
	R02520	Devorah Levin
	R02521	Christopher Crum
08/30/2016	R02522	Alexandra Townsend
	R02523	James Shiflett
	R02524	Yuping Wei
	R02525	Shawn Frasier
	R02526	Heather Athey
	R02527	Zachary Adams
		J

General Session adjourned at 11:25am.

Respectfully Submitted:

Michael Moskowitz, DC Board Secretary/Treasurer