Death and Fetal Death Certificates
The Following Persons May Apply:
- Surviving relative of the deceased
- Authorized representative of a surviving relative of the deceased
- Funeral director who was in charge of the final disposition of the body of the deceased
- An individual who has a proven legal need
- Court of law
Download an application to obtain a copy of a death certificate:
Download in Word format (needs Microsoft Word - the information in this form can be saved and printed)
Download in PDF format (Adobe Reader - free download)
Descargue el formulario bilingüe (Inglés / Español) PDF (necesita Adobe Reader - descárgelo gratis - la información en este formulario se puede guardar e imprimir)
You must present a valid, unexpired, government-issued photo ID displaying a date issued and an expiration date. Applicants unable to supply valid photo ID must present two (2) different pieces of alternative documentation. Acceptable documents are pay stub, current car registration, bank statement, letter from a government agency, lease/rental agreement, utility bill with current address, or a copy of your income tax return or W-2 form. At least one of these documents must contain your current mailing address. Applicants unable to provide valid photo ID will not be able to receive their requests the same day. Their requests will be mailed to the address displayed on the documents provided. If you wish to order a Certificate by mail, include the requested information, photocopy of required identification, a self-addressed, stamped envelope, and the required fee.
Death and Fetal Death Information
The Division issues certified copies of death certificates for individuals who died in Maryland in 1969 or thereafter. For copies of records for deaths that occurred prior to 1969, contact the Maryland State Archives. For all other death certificates, complete the application above. If the certificate is for a fetal death, write "Fetal Death" on the application. You may mail the application, copies of required identification, a self-addressed, stamped envelope and fee to the Division of Vital Records or visit the Division offices at 6550 Reisterstown Road, Baltimore, Maryland 21215 for same day service. If you cannot download the application, you may provide the information listed below on a separate sheet. Fetal death certificates obtained at the Baltimore office are $12.00 per copy.
- Date of application
- Name of deceased (first/middle/last)
- Date of death (month/day/year)
- Place where death occurred (city or county and state)
- Number of copies requested
- Reason for request
- Relationship to deceased
- Applicant's full name (Name should be both printed and signed.)
- Current address
Within 30 days of a death, copies of the record may also be obtained from the local health department in which the funeral director filed the death certificate, with the exception of Baltimore City, Baltimore County, and Anne Arundel County health departments. You must apply in person at the appropriate local health department.
You Will Receive
A certified copy of the death or fetal death certificate. If the search provides no record, a Certification of Record Search will be provided.
Corrections to Existing Death Certificates
If there are errors on an existing death or fetal death certificate, call the Division of Vital Records for information on how to request corrections.
LENGTH OF WAIT
If application is made in person, certificates can be received the same day if valid photo identification is provided. The turnaround time for mail received is 3-4 weeks.