
NON-RESIDENT PHARMACY PERMIT APPLICATION 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 Complete the attached Maryland Board of Pharmacy's Application for Non-Resident Pharmacy
Permit.  The box for the relevant application type (New, New Ownership, New Location,
Renewal, Late Renewal, or Reinstatement) should be selected.

NOTE: A Non-Resident Pharmacy is a pharmacy located outside this State that, in the 
normal course of business, as determined by the Board, ships, mails, or delivers drugs or 
devices to a person in this State pursuant to prescriptions.  A Non-resident Pharmacy 
shall be operated in compliance with the laws and regulations of the state in which it is 
located; and shall be in compliance with the law and with the rules and regulations of the 
Board.  For further details, please review HO §12-404. 

 Submit the completed application with all attachments and a check made payable to the Maryland
Board of Pharmacy in the appropriate amount to:

Maryland Board of Pharmacy, PO BOX 2024, Baltimore, MD 21203-2024. 

 The application process must be completed within one year from submission of the initial
application.  Applicants failing to complete the process within one year will be required to submit a
new application and fee.

 A Non-Resident Pharmacy application must include the name and licensure information for the
pharmacist who is licensed by the Maryland Board of Pharmacy and is designed as “the
pharmacist responsible for providing pharmaceutical services to patients in” Maryland, Md. Code
Ann., Health Occ. § 12-403(d), and who all Maryland patients who call with inquiries will be
referred, as appropriate, Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. § 12-403(f)(6).

 A completed application must include:

o A copy of the most recent inspection report and the name of the agency that performed
the inspection;

o A list of all federal and state licenses, registrations, and/or permits;
o A list of all disciplinary actions taken by federal and/or state agencies against the

pharmacy and/or any principals, owners, directors, or officers;
o The name and Maryland pharmacist license number for the pharmacist responsible for

providing pharmaceutical services to patients in Maryland (if applicable);
o The appropriate application fee ($700 for New, New Ownership and New Location, $500

for Renewal, $700 for late Renewal postmarked after May 31st, and $1,050 for
Reinstatement applications); and

o Any other documentation required in HO 12-404.
 If the actual date of the pharmacy opening is different from the Proposed Date of Opening or

Ownership/Location Change on the application, please contact the Board as soon as possible
and provide the new date.

Rev. 10/05/2016 1

 Applications sent overnight or through priority mail must be addressed to the appropriate lockbox 
and sent to: 

First Data /Remitco, Attn: Maryland Board of Pharmacy / LOCKBOX 7693
400 White Clay Center Drive, Newark, DE  19711



 Before returning your completed application to the Board of Pharmacy, it is recommended that
you maintain a copy of your submission and attachments for your records.

 When there is a name change of the pharmacy or a change in the pharmacist who is licensed
by the state of Maryland as per the requirement for a Non-Resident Pharmacy Permit, a fee or
inspection would not be required.  However, legal documentation of the name change or
pharmacist change must be submitted.  Please contact the Board for more information.

 Pharmacies whose practice is specific to a specialty/specialties should complete the Application
for Pharmacy Waiver Permit.  A Waiver Pharmacy must limit practice only to the specialty specified
on the waiver application.  This means the pharmacy cannot perform pharmaceutical services other
than those allowed by the restrictive waiver.

NOTE:  The board must be notified of any change in the pharmacy name, ownership, 
location, or Maryland licensed pharmacist within thirty (30) days of the change if the 
change occurs before the annual renewal. 

NOTE: Please allow four to six weeks for the Board to process your completed 
application. 

NOTE: The application fee is a non-refundable, administrative fee. 

 Effective July 1, 2003, all Maryland businesses must pay all delinquent Maryland Use and Sales
taxes before their permit can be renewed.  All permits expire May 31st of each even-numbered
year. To settle a past business tax liability, call 410-649-0633 in Central Maryland or toll-free at 1-
888-614-6337.

Rev. 10/05/2016 2



APPLICATION FOR NON-RESIDENT PHARMACY PERMIT 
BOARD USE ONLY 

Permit Number: 
Approval Date: 
Approval By: 

• Please print clearly in ink or type in upper case letters only.

• Complete all application sections and sign. If a question is not applicable, an explanation must be
provided. Incomplete forms will delay the issuance of your permit.

APPLICATION TYPE 

New 
Application 

Fee: $700.00 

New 
Ownership 

Fee: $700.00 

New 
Location 

Fee: $700.00 

Renewal 

Fee: $500.00 

Late 
Renewal 

Fee: $700.00 

Reinstatement 

Fee: $1,050.00 

1. APPLICANT INFORMATION
A. Name of Applicant: 

(name in which company is doing 
business) 
Maryland Permit Number (if 
applicable): 

B. Facility Address (physical location of establishment which should be 
reflected on all sales invoices and shipping documents): 
Street 
Address: 

Suite 
#: 

City: State: Zip 
Code: 

Telephone #: Fax #: 
Web Site: Email 

Address: 
Federal Tax ID #: 

Maryland Board of Pharmacy 
4201 Patterson Avenue 

Baltimore MD 21215-2299 
Phone: 410-764-4755 

Fax: 410-358-6207 
www.dhmh.maryland.gov/pharmacy 
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C. Date of Proposed Opening or Ownership / Location 
Change 

D. Type of Business (check all that apply): 
Sole Proprietorship Partnership C Corporation 
S Corporation LLC Other (please explain): 

E. Date Business was 
Established: 

F. Is this the first application that you have submitted for 
this facility? YES         NO 

If not, provide the date of the most recent submission: 

G. If this application is being submitted for an ownership change, provide the 
name of  the previous owner and current permit number for the facility 
Name: 
Permit #: 

2. FACILITY INFORMATION
A. Date of last inspection by a state agency, accreditation 

program, or FDA: 
(attach most recent inspection report, which should be 
within the last 2 years) 
If your State does not require inspections, check here: 

B. DEA Registration #: Expiration 
Date: 

Maryland CDS 
Registration # 
(attach copies of 
registration certificates) 

Expiration 
Date: 
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C. State and Federal permit/license/registration numbers 
(Include a copy of the permit/license/registration)  (attach additional pages if 
necessary): 

LICENSING BODY PERMIT / LICENSE / REGISTRATION 
NUMBER 

D. Does this Corporation, Partnership or 
Individual have a subsidiary or other affiliate 
located in Maryland? 

YES         NO 

If YES, provide the company name and 
address: 

3. OPERATIONS
A. Hours of Operation 

Sunday Thursday 
Monday Friday 
Tuesday Saturday 
Wednesday 

B. CHECK ALL APPLICABLE DESCRIPTIONS OF THE PHARMACY: 

 Other (please describe):____________________ 

 Specialty (please describe):__________________ 

Clinic
Free Clinic
Home Health
Internet
Mail Order
Nursing Home
Sterile 
   Compounding
Non-Sterile
   Compounding

Community (less 
    than 10 stores)
Consultant
Durable Medical
   Equipment (DME)/
   Device
Hospital
Intravenous Therapy
Managed Care
Pharmacy Service
   Center
Veterinary 

Chain (10 or more
   stores)
Correctional 
    Institution
HMO
Independent
Comprehensive Care
    (Long Term Care)
Nuclear
Research
Assisted Living Facility
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C. Does this Pharmacy conduct business on the 
Internet? YES         NO 

If YES, what services? 

Is your business address and telephone number 
specified on your website(s)? YES         NO 

D. What other business website name(s) does this establishment use, other 
than that listed in the applicant information section or the previous 
question? 

E. Identify the entities and method for shipping prescription drugs in to 
Maryland: 

Name Telephone Method MD Permit # 

F. During its regular hours of operation, but not less than 6 days a week and 
for a minimum of 40 hours per week, non-resident pharmacies must provide 
a toll-free telephone service to facilitate communication between patients in 
this State and pharmacist who has access to the patient’s prescription 
records. 
List the Pharmacy Toll Free Telephone 
Number(s): 

G. Is the toll free telephone number on the 
prescription label? YES         NO 
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4.  OWNERSHIP 
 Please include the following on a separate sheet: 
 1. Full name, title, date of birth, and business address for owner, sole 

proprietor, each partner, and/or each corporate director or officer; 
 2. Full name, title, date of birth, and business address for each manager of 

an LLC; 
 3. Full name, title, date of birth and business address for each shareholder 

owning 10% or more of the shares for a non-publicly traded corporation; 
and 

 4. Corporate name for a non-publicly traded corporation. 
 5. Are any of the owners licensed in any other 

healthcare profession? YES         NO 

  If yes, provide the names of these owners along with their 
corresponding licensed profession, state license number, and 
expiration date. 

 

NAME OF THE 
OWNER 

TYPE OF 
HEALTHCARE 
PROFESSION 

STATE LICENSE 
# EXP. DATE 

    
    
    
    
    
    

 

5. DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 
Please include a separate sheet listing all disciplinary actions by federal or state 
agencies against the pharmacy, as well as any such actions against principals, 
owners, directors, officers, or employees. Please include documentation of any 
corrective actions taken in response to any disciplinary actions and any final orders 
issued by any federal or state agencies. Renewal, relocation, and reinstatement 
applicants - please only include information since your last application with the 
Board. 
 Attachment included: YES         NO 
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6. PERSONNEL 
A. Complete pharmacist, pharmacy interns, and pharmacy technician 

employees’ name(s), employment status, license/registration number and 
expiration date. Attach additional sheets if necessary 

 

EMPLOYEE NAME 
FULL / PART-

TIME 

RESIDENT 
STATE 

LICENSE / 
REGISTRATION 

# 
EXPIRATION 

DATE 
    F/T      P/T   
    F/T      P/T   
    F/T      P/T   
    F/T      P/T   
    F/T      P/T   
    F/T      P/T   

 

B. Complete the information for the pharmacist at this establishment who is 
licensed in the state of Maryland: 

NAME 

EMPLOYMENT 
STATUS 

FULL / PART-
TIME 

MARYLAND 
PHARMACIST 

LICENSE #: 

MARYLAND 
PHARMACIST 

LICENSE 
EXPIRATION 

DATE 
    F/T      P/T   

 

 If the pharmacist is not yet licensed in Maryland, date 
the pharmacist application was submitted to the 
Maryland Board of Pharmacy: 
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C. Agent located in Maryland officially designated to accept Service of 
Process: 

An agent is any person you designate to accept legal documents from the 
Board of Pharmacy on your behalf.  When legal documents are received by 
your designated agent, the documents are considered by law to have been 
received by you.  Thus, you should choose an individual you can trust to 
forward correspondence to you in a timely fashion. For this reason, many 
people choose an attorney, an accountant, or other professional who owes 
them a fiduciary duty.  You may designate any person you choose, however, 
your agent must be a resident of Maryland.  List your agent information below 
and provide proof of the agent agreement. 
 Name:  
 Street 

Address: 
 

 City:  State:  Zip 
Code: 

 

 

7. MARYLAND LAWS & REGULATIONS ATTESTATION  
In order to operate as a Maryland Non-Resident pharmacy, the pharmacy must 
comply with certain provisions of Maryland law—specifically Md. Code Ann., 
Health Occ. § 12-403(b)(2), (7)-(12), and (19)—when dispensing prescription 
drugs or devices to patients in Maryland or “[o]therwise engaging in the 
practice of pharmacy” in Maryland.  Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. § 12-403(f)(1). 
By signing this application, I solemnly affirm under the penalties of perjury that 
the contents of this application are true to the best of my knowledge, information, 
and belief.  I further certify that I am aware of and will meet the requirements of 
the Maryland Pharmacy Act and Maryland Board of Pharmacy regulations 
pertaining to Non-Resident Pharmacy Permitting.  I understand that a Maryland 
Non-Resident Pharmacy Permit may be revoked if any assertion made in this 
application is found to be false. 
 

Signature of 
Legal 

Applicant: 

 
 

 
Business 
Telephone #: 

 Business Fax 
#: 

 

Name and Title:  Email 
Address: 

 

Corporation 
Name: 

 Date:  
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8. LIST OF DESIGNEES 
If applicable, list the names of person and/or entity that you authorize the 

Board to release information about your application: 
Name of Organization Name of Person Title 

   
   
   

 

9. ATTESTATION FOR REINSTATEMENT APPLICANTS ONLY 
I hereby swear and affirm under penalty of perjury that 
__________________________ [insert pharmacy or DME/Device only 
provider name], permit no. ______________, has not operated as a 
pharmacy or DME/Device only provider  in the State of Maryland since the 
expiration of our most recent pharmacy permit, which expired on 
______________________.  I understand that a violation of Md. Code. 
Health Occ., Sec. 12-703 or its corresponding regulations may result in 
the imposition of a fine not to exceed $50,000. 

Signature of 
Permit 

Holder: 

 
 

 
Printed Name of Permit 
Holder: 

 Date:  

 

10. APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
Application Fee ($500, $700, or $1,050) YES         NO 
Most Recent Inspection Report YES         NO 
Copies of DEA & Maryland CDS Registration Certificates YES         NO 
Copy of Permit(s) from State of Residence YES         NO 
Ownership Information YES         NO 
Maryland Resident Agent Information YES         NO 
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