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GENERAL PERSONNEL INFORMATION 
 

I. STATE MERIT SYSTEM      

 

The State Merit System replaced the "Spoils System" in 1920.  It is a body of laws, rules and regulations 

emanating from the Maryland Office of Personnel Services & Benefits (formerly known as the Maryland 

Department of Personnel) to provide for the fair and equitable processing of personnel actions; i.e., 

recruitment, selection, training, discipline, leave, transfers, discharge, etc.  The Merit System provides for 

certain rights and protections for permanent employees in the Classified Service. {Ref:  Article 64A} 

 

 

II. CODE OF ETHICS 

 

State employees provide services to all the people of Maryland.  Because of this, their conduct is subject 

to standards and requirements that have been established to protect the interests of the public, and to 

protect the good name of the State.  A Code of Ethics has been promulgated to provide a framework for 

proper conduct of State employees citing such improprieties as conflict of interest, and accepting gifts and 

gratuities. 

  

 

III. FRAUD, WASTE, AND ABUSE IN HEALTH CARE PROGRAMS 

 

As an entity that receives and makes annual Medicaid payments of at least $5 million, DHMH is required 

under section 6032 of the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (DRA) to include in its Employee Handbook “a 

specific discussion” of various federal and State laws and DHMH policies relating to fraud, waste, and 

abuse in health care programs.    

 

A.  Federal Law 

 

The federal False Claims Act (FCA, 31 U.S.C. §§ 3729 to 3733) provides that any person who 

knowingly:   

 

1.) submits a false or fraudulent claim to the federal government for payment, or  

2.) uses false records or statements to obtain payment from the federal government for a false or 

fraudulent claim, 

 

is liable to the federal government and subject to a civil penalty of $5,500 to $11,000 per claim ($5,000 to 

$10,000 for claims submitted before September 29, 1999), plus three times the amount of damages that 

the federal government sustains because of the act of that person.  For purposes of the FCA, a person acts 

“knowingly” if the person:   

 

1.) has actual knowledge of the falsity of the claim, record, or statement, or   

2.) acts in deliberate ignorance or reckless disregard as to the truth or falsity of the claim, record,     

     or statement, even where there is no proof that the person had a specific intent to defraud the    

     federal government.  “Claims” include any request or demand for money or property. 

 

 

The FCA also contains whistleblower (qui tam) provisions that allow private citizens to bring suit on 

behalf of the federal government to recover federal funds used to pay false or fraudulent claims.  Such 

whistleblowers may share in the proceeds of such recoveries.  Any whistleblower who is “discharged, 
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demoted, suspended, threatened, harassed, or in any other manner discriminated against in the terms and 

conditions of employment by his or her employer” is entitled to various types of relief under the FCA and 

may sue in federal court to obtain such relief. 

 

In addition to the civil penalties provided for in the FCA, any person who makes false claims or 

statements for the purpose of obtaining payment from the federal government may also be subject to 

additional penalties imposed by relevant federal agencies, such as the Office of the Inspector General for 

the United States Department of Health and Human Services.  These penalties may include civil money 

penalties and prospective exclusion from participation in all Federal and State health care programs (see 

31 U.S.C. §§ 3801 to 3812, 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7a, and related regulations).  

 

Other federal laws directed at fraud, waste, and abuse include: the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt 

Organizations Act (RICO, see 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961 to 1968), which is aimed at organized criminal activity 

conducted through interstate commerce; civil forfeiture statutes, including 18 U.S.C. § 981, which is 

directed primarily at “money laundering” of claims illegally received; the criminal False Claims Act (see 

18 U.S.C. §287); the federal Anti-Kickback Statute (see 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7b(b)); various federal 

statutes criminalizing the making of false statements to the federal government (see 18 U.S.C. § 1001), 

mail fraud and wire fraud (see 18 U.S.C. §§ 1341 and 1343), Medicare and Medicaid Fraud (see 42 

U.S.C. § 1320a-7b(a)), and money laundering (see 18 U.S.C. §§ 1956 and 1957); and other general 

statutes concerning conspiracy, theft, and obstruction of justice. 

 

B.  State Law 

 

1. Maryland State False Claims Act – (See Health General §§2–601 through 2– 611 of the  

                       Annotated Code of Maryland) 

 

Under the State False Claims Act a person may not:  

 

(a) knowingly present or cause to be presented a false or fraudulent claim for payment or 

approval; 

(b) knowingly make, use, or cause to be made or used a false record or statement material to 

a false or fraudulent claim; 

(c) conspire to commit a violation under this subtitle; 

(d) Have possession, custody, or control of money or other property used by or on behalf of 

the state under a state health plan or a state health program and knowingly deliver or 

cause to be delivered to the state less than all of that money or other property; 

(e)  (i) be authorized to make or deliver a receipt or other document certifying receipt of 

money or other property used or to be used by the state under a state health plan or a state 

health program; and  

(ii) Intending to defraud the state or the department, make or deliver a receipt or 

document knowing that the information contained in the receipt  or document is 

not true; 

(f) knowingly buy or receive as a pledge of an obligation or debt publicly owned property 

from an officer, employee, or agent of a state health plan or a state health program who 

lawfully may not sell or pledge the property; 

(g) knowingly make, use, or cause to be made or used, a false record or statement material to 

an obligation to pay or transmit money or other property to the state; 

(h) knowingly conceal, or knowingly and improperly avoid or decrease, an obligation to pay 

or transmit money or other property to the state; or 

 (i) knowingly make any other false or fraudulent claim against a state health 

 plan or a state health program. 
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A person or entity who violates one of these provisions is subject to: 

(1)  A civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation;  

(2) An additional amount of not more than three times the amount of  

damages that the state sustains as a result of the acts. 

 

An individual filing the civil suit against the person or entity is protected from retaliatory actions and may receive 

a portion of the recovery generated by the action. 

 

2. Under the Maryland Medicaid Fraud statute (see Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law §§ 8-508 to 8-517), a 

person who knowingly and willfully: 

 

1.) defrauds or attempts to defraud a State health plan in connection with the delivery of or 

payment for  

a health care service, or       

 

2.) obtains or attempts to obtain by means of a false representation anything of value in 

connection with the delivery of or payment for a health care service through a State health 

plan, is guilty of a crime and is subject to imprisonment, a fine, or both.  The Maryland 

Medicaid Fraud statute also includes provisions relating to conversion, bribes and kickbacks, 

and referral rebates. 

 

A person who violates the Maryland Medicaid Fraud statute is also liable to the State for a civil penalty of 

up to three times the amount of the overpayment.  For purposes of the Maryland Medicaid Fraud statute, 

“false representations” include the knowing and willful “making of a materially false or fraudulent 

statement”, and the knowing and willful use of a false or fraudulent document that the person knows to be 

false or fraudulent.  “State health plans” include the State’s Medicaid program, other State medical 

assistance plans administered by DHMH, and any person that provides or contracts or subcontracts to 

provide health care services for such program or plan.  

 

Additional sanctions under State law, which may apply to health care personnel who commit fraud, waste, 

or abuse, include loss of staff privileges at a health care facility or suspension or revocation of a health 

occupation license. 

 

C.  DHMH Efforts to Combat Fraud, Waste, and Abuse 

 

As part of its effort to combat fraud, waste, and abuse of DHMH funds and property, DHMH has 

established a Corporate Compliance Program and a Code of Conduct (see DHMH Policy 01.03.01).  The 

Corporate Compliance Program is administered by the Division of Corporate Compliance of the DHMH 

Office of the Inspector General (OIG).  The OIG has the authority to “investigate fraud, waste, and abuse” 

of DHMH (and federal) funds, and to “take necessary steps to recover” any fraudulent claims paid by 

DHMH (see Md. Ann. Code, Health-Gen. §§ 2-501 to 2-505).   

All DHMH employees have a responsibility to report to the OIG any incidents of suspected fraud, waste, 

abuse, or misconduct within DHMH that potentially violate any laws, DHMH policies, or the Code of 

Conduct.  Reports to the OIG may be made orally, in writing, or through the OIG Hotline at 1-866-770-

7175.   Any report to the OIG may be made anonymously, regardless of the means of reporting.  

   

Any DHMH employee who suffers retaliation as a result of reporting suspected fraud, waste, abuse, or 

misconduct may file a complaint with the Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene pursuant to section 5-

309 of the Maryland Whistleblower Law in the Executive Branch of State Government (see Md. Code 

Ann., State Pers. & Pens. §§ 5-301 to 5-313).  
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For more information on the OIG, or to make a report of fraud, waste, abuse, or misconduct to the OIG, 

please contact: 

Office of the Inspector General 

Department of Health & Mental Hygiene 

201 West Preston Street, 5
th
 Floor 

Baltimore, Maryland 21201 

Phone: (410) 767-5784 

Website:  http://dhmh.maryland.gov/oig 

OIG Hotline (for reports only): (866) 770-7175  

   

[IV. Equal Employment Opportunity] 

 

It is the policy of this Department that no one shall be denied employment, selection, appointment, 

promotion, training or salary increase because of race, religion, color, political affiliation or opinion, 

marital status, creed, ancestry, sexual orientation, gender identity, and expression, genetic information, 

national origin, age, sex or handicap (except where age, sex or handicap is a bona fide condition of 

employment).  The Governor's Code of Fair Practices requires State agencies to adopt an Affirmative 

Action Plan to further the cause of equal opportunity in employment.  The Department's plan is based 

upon problem identification and a prescribed course of action designed to address any problems or 

deficiencies.  Formal complaints of discrimination may be filed with the DHMH Office of Equal 

Opportunity Commission (EEOC), the Maryland Human Relations Commission or the Federal Equal 

Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC). 

{Ref: DHMH POL. 2.1, 2.13; Gov. Code of Fair Practices; State Personnel & Pensions Article § 3-401 

- 3-410} 

 

IV. CATEGORIES OF EMPLOYEES  

 

     A. Executive Service 

      Employees in this service are not required to take competitive employment tests and are 

not selected from an eligible list.  This service includes employees who are agency heads, 

deputy secretaries, assistant secretaries or who hold positions of equivalent rank. 

 

B. Management Service  

Employees in this service are not required to take competitive employment tests and are 

not selected from an eligible list. This service generally includes employees who have 

direct responsibility for the management of programs involving substantial personnel and 

financial resources.  

 

C. Professional Service 

Employees are hired through competitive employment tests.   This service includes 

employees who possess an advanced degree or professional license in order to perform 

assigned work. 

 

D. Skilled Service 

Employees in this service are hired through competitive employment tests.  This service 

consists of the majority of state employees. 

 

E. Special Appointment 

This is a subgroup of the Skilled and Professional Services.  These employees are in this 

category because of a specific law or because they handle confidential employee related 

or sensitive matters.                            
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V. GENERAL EMPLOYMENT  
 

A. Test announcements for general Skilled and Professional Service positions are posted on bulletin 

boards and are advertised on the Department of Budget and Management, Office of Personnel 

Services & Benefits (OPSB) web site (http://www.dbm.maryland.gov/) Individual agencies are 

responsible for recruitment for their unique classifications.  Department of Health and Mental 

Hygiene advertise by test announcements through the same mechanisms as OPSB.  The DHMH 

web site is: http://www.jobaps.com/md/jobs/dhmh/and the JOBLINE number is:  410-767-6018.  

Test announcements contain the specific salary range, nature of work, minimum qualifications, 

conditions of employment, as well as the closing date after which no applications will be accepted 

by the Department of Budget and Management or the individual recruiting agency for the 

announced test.  An examination schedule produced by the Department of Budget and 

Management and/or the individual agency is also posted on main bulletin boards.  The schedule 

identifies each classification; a closing date of applications; the type of examination, i.e., written, 

unassembled, etc., as well as the date and location of the test when these have been established. 

 

B. Individuals may apply for and take an examination for a position requiring a high school diploma 

or college degree provided they are within 90 days of completing the required education at the 

time of examination.  Promotional candidates (current State employees) may take an examination 

if they are within 90 days of meeting the experience and/or educational requirement of the tested 

level. 

 

C. The Department of Budget and Management, OPSB publishes job specifications for each position 

within the Skilled and Professional Services specifying the salary, minimum qualifications, 

conditions of employment as well as examples of work, essential requirements of work, and the 

nature of work. 

 

D. To accommodate State employees participating in Merit system examinations or State interviews, 

a supervisor, given reasonable notice, may allow up to four (4) hours leave without loss of pay or 

other leave.  The supervisor may: 

 

1. Require prior approval of the request. 

 

2. Require verification of the examination taken or interview attended 

 

3. Limit the number of interviews and time allotted for them when abuse is apparent. 

 

{Ref:  COMAR 06.01.11.16} 

 

E. Positions in the Skilled and Professional Services, with the exception of the Interview and Hire 

classifications, are filled by selection from a list of eligibles which results from a competitive 

examination.  Candidates on the resultant eligible list are placed in random order by the following 

categories: best qualified, better qualified, qualified, and unsatisfactory.  The following 

individuals receive additional points added to an earned examination score as indicated: 

 

1. Ten points are credited for any eligible veteran, spouse of an eligible veteran who has a 

service connected disability, or the surviving spouse of a deceased eligible veteran. 

 

2. One-quarter point for each year of service in State government, up to a maximum of five 

points for 20 years of State service, is credited to current State employees. 

 

http://www.dbm.maryland.gov/
http://www.jobaps.com/md/jobs/dhmh/
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3. Five points are credited to each resident of the State of Maryland. 

{Ref: State Personnel and Pensions Article, 7-207} 

 

G. An official Personnel Record is maintained for all State employees by the Maryland Department 

of Budget and Management as that agency must ultimately take the action to change an 

employee's status; i.e., appointment, promotion, demotion, transfer, etc. This record merely 

records objective data pertaining to changes in status. 

 

Your Official Personnel File is maintained within the DHMH Office of Human Resources.  This 

contains the full and comprehensive personnel information relating to official changes in status, 

personnel forms completed by you as well as any letters of appreciation or reprimand authorized 

by the supervisor. 

 

To ensure that your personnel records are up to date, it is essential that you provide the DHMH 

Office of Human Resources any change in name, address, or retirement beneficiary.  If you have 

filed applications for tests or are on a list of eligibles, you should also write to the Office of 

Personnel Services & Benefits, Department of Budget and Management, 300 W. Preston Street, 

Baltimore, MD 21201 advising of a name or address change. 

   

VI. PROBATION AND PERFORMANCE APPRAISAL 

 

A. Probationary Period 

 

Probation is the final step of the hiring process where an employee demonstrates on the job, that 

he or she is able and willing to perform the assigned duties of the job.  The following pertains to 

this probationary period: 

    

1. Required for all employees in the Skilled and Professional Services. 

 

2. Minimum probationary period is six months for all. 

 

3. Employees in salary grade seven and higher may be extended up to an additional six months. 

 

4. Employees in salary grades six or below may be extended up to an additional three months. 

 

5. Requires 90-day written evaluation by supervisor. 

 

6. Transfers and employees reinstated within one year after they leave State Service are not 

required to serve a new probationary period if they are reinstated into a classification in 

which they have already served a probationary period. 

 

{Ref:  State Personnel and Pensions Article, 7-401, 7-405, 11-303 and 11-304} 

    

B. Performance Appraisal 

 

The appraisal process is a time to evaluate an employee's performance and an opportunity to 

increase the level of communication between the employee and the supervisor. The following 

pertains to performance appraisals: 

 

1. Employees in the Skilled, Professional and Management Services shall be evaluated at six-

month intervals based on the employee's entrance on duty date in state service. 



 

 

DHMH New Employee Orientation Handbook                 Healthy People in Healthy Communities 
8 

 

2. Includes a preliminary appraisal by the supervisor, a joint review and discussion, and a 

final appraisal. 

 

3. Employees may be rated in one of three categories: Outstanding, Satisfactory, and 

Unsatisfactory. 

 

 {Ref: State Personnel and Pensions Article, Title 7} 

                 

VII. HOURS OF WORK   

 

A. Employees work an 8.0-hour day. 

B. Lunch period is 30 or 60 minutes depending upon work schedule, and is mandatory. 

C. Normal business hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

D. Standard pay week is Wednesday through Tuesday totaling 40 hours. 

E. Overtime, i.e., time worked beyond the normal schedule, must be approved in advance by 

supervisor. 

1. The title rate listing determines overtime or cash time eligibility.   

2. Straight time cash payment up to 40 hours per week Wednesday to Tuesday. 

3.   Time and one-half cash payment in excess of 40 hours per week Wednesday to Tuesday, 

or over 8 hours in a day for Direct Patient Care classifications. 

 

F. Compensatory time is time worked beyond the normal schedule approved in advance by the 

supervisor. 

1. Generally grades 8 and above are eligible, which usually includes executive, professional 

and administrative classifications, the title rate listing determines the eligibility. 

2. Must work at least one-half hour in excess of the regular workday's hours before 

compensatory leave is earned/credited. 

3. Must be used within a 12-month period. 

4. Can be taken only with supervisor's advance approval. 

 

VIII. PAY  

 

A. Employees are paid on a bi-weekly schedule every other Wednesday, 26 times per year. 

 

B. Mandatory Deductions 

 

1.   Federal withholding tax  

2.   State withholding tax     

3.   Social Security    

4.   Retirement, if applicable  

5.   Employee Organization Dues, if applicable 

 

C.  Optional Deductions 

 

1.   Credit Union                           

2.   Savings Bonds                          

3.   Health Insurance                       

4.   Employee Organizations Dues/Insurance  

5.   Deferred Compensation                  

6.   United Charities of Maryland 
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D.  Salary Scale 

 

1. Base salary is the normal starting salary with 20 increments. 

2. Base through 7 is 3%, step 8-14 is 2.5%, and 15-20 is 2%. 

3. The last 10 steps represent approximately 2% annual increments. 

4.   Increments may be denied for unsatisfactory performance. 

 

E.  Increment Schedule 

 

1. New State employees starting between January 1 and June 30 will receive increments 

effective January 1. 

2. New State employees starting between July 1 and December 31 will receive increments 

effective July 1.   

 

 F. General Statewide salary increases require the approval of the General Assembly and is 

generally effective on July 1. 

 

          NOTE:  Increments may be delayed or cancelled if not approved by the General Assembly for that 

Fiscal Year. 

 

G. Acting Capacity Pay is a payment which results from the formal designation by a supervisor, 

with Personnel concurrence, of an employee to temporarily "act" or perform higher duties 

until permanent arrangement can be made.  Payment is made, after a waiting period is 

satisfied, at the salary grade of the higher level classification in which one is "acting." 

 

{Ref:  Dept. of Budget and Management Title 17, Subtitle 04, Chapter 01} 

   

IX. RECLASSIFICATION AND PROMOTION  
 

A. Reclassification results from a substantial change in the employee's duties, responsibilities, or 

functional level of performance sufficient to place the individual into a new job classification or 

level without vacating the position, normally resulting in a salary increase. {REF: Department 

of Budget and Management, Title 17, Subtitle 04, Chapter 02} 

 

B. Reclassification Requirements 

 

1. Must meet minimum qualifications of the new or higher level classification. 

2. Must be recommended by supervisor. 

3. Personnel Analyst must verify new functional level by review of position description 

form MS-22 and possible desk audit. 

 

C. A non-competitive promotion is a personnel transaction which permits employees to advance 

from a trainee level to a full performance level in a classification series. 

 

D. Non-Competitive Promotion Requirements 

 

1. Must meet minimum qualifications for the higher level. 

2. Must be satisfactorily performing the full range of duties of the higher level. 

3. Must be recommended by supervisor. 
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E. Promotions occur by leaving your present position to occupy a vacant position in a higher 

salary grade.  These promotional appointments to vacant positions require employees to go 

through the normal Merit System application and examination process and be selected from the 

appropriate list of eligibles.  Such a promotion would necessitate serving a new probationary 

period. 

 

C. Employees reclassified to a higher level salary graded position or who obtain a promotional 

appointment to a higher level vacancy must receive a salary increase of at least 6%. 

 

X. EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND SERVICES  

 

A. An Innovative Idea and Incentive Performance Awards Program exists which can provide cash 

payments to reward employees for innovative ideas that save State money and/or for their 

outstanding and extraordinary service to the Department.  There is a coordinator in the Office 

of Human Resources.  

{Ref:  State Personnel and Pensions, Title 10, Subtitle 2} 

 

B. Optional Health Care Program 

 

1. There are three (3) types of medical plans available: Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) 

plans, Point-of-Service (POS) plans and Exclusive Provider Organization plans (EPO). 

Each type of plan (PPO, POS and EPO) has a standard set of benefits, by type of plan. 

Plans are available on a regional basis.  Please refer to the current annual summary of 

health benefits for more details on each plan. 

 

2. The State offers the following additional benefit plans: Prescription, Dental, Mental 

Health/Substance Abuse, Vision, Term Life Insurance, Personal Accident & 

Dismemberment Insurance, Flexible Spending Accounts, and Long Term Care. 

 

3. New employees may enroll in any State Health program within 60 days of their entry on 

duty date.  After this initial enrollment period an employee may only enroll in or change 

their plan during an Open Enrollment period normally held once a year. 

 

4. If a change in the employee's family or marital status requires a change of coverage and the 

change involves an addition of one or more dependents, such change must be accomplished 

by completing a new enrollment application within 60 days of acquiring the dependent or 

status change. 

 

5. Employees on an approved leave of absence without pay who wish to continue health 

insurance while on leave must pay the premiums when due or coverage will be terminated 

and re-enrollment will not be possible until the first available open enrollment period. 

 

6. Employees who resign or are terminated from State service may opt to continue health 

insurance for 18 months.  This coverage will be at 100% cost to the employee plus 2% 

administrative cost.  Forms can be obtained from the Office of Human Resources. 

 

C. The Central Office, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, participates in a Blood Donor 

Program through the local Red Cross Chapter.  When a participant or any immediate family 

member needs blood, it is just a matter of a phone call to the Program Coordinator in the Office 

of Human Resources.  All able employees are urged to donate blood. 
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D. The State Employees Credit Union provides first class banking services in the form of direct 

deposit, savings, checking, and personal and automobile loans.  In order to borrow, employees 

must be employed with the State for three months.  Additional benefits and services are 

available from the Credit Union, including an IRA Plan.  

 

E. Deferred Compensation is an optional savings plan that allows employees to set aside a portion 

of their earnings in tax-sheltered savings and investment programs.  The plan basically permits 

employees to defer present income (as well as deferring the payment of taxes on it) for long-

term saving to supplement pension and other income after retirement. The plan is offered 

through Nationwide Retirement Solutions, and a representative may be contacted at 1-800-545-

4730 

 

G.  Retirement 

 

1. Eligibility:  All permanent full-time and part-time employees who work a minimum of 500 

hours per fiscal year must become members of the Maryland State Pension System as a 

condition of employment.  Employee’s Entrance on Duty Date (EOD) determines the 

system you are enrolled in; EOD prior to 7/1/11 is the Employees’ Contributory Pension 

Benefit, EOD of 7/1/11 and after is the Employees’ Reform Contributory Pension Benefit. 

2. Employee Contribution: Employees are required to contribute 7% of their salary which is 

automatically deducted from their paychecks. 

3. Minimum Full Benefit Retirement Eligibility: either 30 years creditable service or five 

years creditable service and age 62.  If under the Reformed Pension: Rule of 90 (age and 

years of service must equal 90) or fifteen years of service and age 65.    

4. Benefit Formula-Based on the sum of (A) and (B):  (A) Average final salary times 1.2% 

times service credit as of June 30, 1998 PLUS (B) Average final salary times 1.4% times 

service credit earned after June 30, 1998.  

5. Cost of Living Adjustments: Limited to maximum of 3% of retiree’s current allowance. 

6. Ordinary Disability Retirement: requires five years of eligible service.  Benefit based on 

credit member would have had at age 62. 

7. Military Service Credit: A member with ten years in the Pension System may claim up to 

five years of retirement credit for active military service at no cost to the employee.  

8. Sick Leave: Retirement credit for accumulated sick leave is given at the rate of 22 days 

sick leave equal to one month of service credit.  This credit increases the retirement 

allowance but does not permit one to retire any sooner.  

9. Death Benefit: If death occurs while in active State service, the designated beneficiary will 

receive a lump sum payment equal to one (1) year's current salary plus any employee 

contributions and accumulated interest. 

10. Retirement Coordinator: Your Retirement Coordinator or Personnel Officer can answer 

most basic questions concerning retirement, providing you with necessary forms to 

complete a retirement related transaction.  Your Coordinator is located in the Office of 

Human Resources.  A Retirement Counselor who is fully trained in this area is available in 

the Maryland State Retirement System. 

11. Members have vesting rights after five (5) years of eligible service or ten (10) years of 

eligible service in the reformed system. 

 

H. The Employee Assistance Program with the Department of Budget and Management has been 

established to counsel employees and supervisors with health or personal problems that may be the 

cause of poor work performance and poor attendance. 
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All appointments or referrals must be requested in writing from the supervisor to the Personnel 

Officer, providing a copy to the affected employee. All information is kept confidential. 

 

I. Identification Cards - Central Office employees are required to obtain State identification cards free 

of charge.  The Office of Human Resources provides identification cards at no cost for new 

employees during their orientation.  If the card is lost, employees may obtain a replacement card by 

calling 410-767-6403.  Replacement cards may be issued at an additional cost to the employee.  

Upon leaving the Agency, employees must turn in their identification card to the Employment Unit 

of OHR as part of the clearance procedure. 

 

XI. ABSENCES  

 

A. It is recognized that emergencies or illnesses occur necessitating unplanned lateness or absence 

from work; however, any absence must be promptly reported to the appropriate supervisor to 

avoid possible discipline for being "absent without leave."  Central office employees must 

provide notification of absence within the first 30 minutes of the workday. 

 

B. It is the personal responsibility of employees to report or have reported, through the appropriate 

supervisory notification procedure, their absence from work because of illness or other reasons 

and the expected date of return.The employee is responsible for knowing the name and the 

telephone number of the person in the unit to whom the report is made.  Each supervisor must 

establish and post the local call-in procedure for the unit and maintain a log to record reports of 

absence; i.e., name of employee, name of caller, reason for absence, time of call, expected date 

of return, and name of person taking the call. 

 

C. During periods of prolonged illness, the employee or designee must notify the supervisor bi-

weekly of the progress of treatment until an actual date of return has been established. 

 

XII. LEAVE 

 

A. Holidays 

 

1. 11 regular holidays a year; 12 every other year (General and Congressional Elections) 

{Note: Holidays falling on Saturday will be observed on the preceding Friday.  Holidays  

falling on Sunday will be observed on the following Monday.} 

 

Holiday Schedule 

 

New Year's Day January 1 
Martin Luther King's Birthday 3rd Monday in January 
Washington's Birthday 3rd Monday in February 
Memorial Day Last Monday in May 
Independence Day July 4 
Labor Day 1st Monday in September 
Columbus Day October 12 
Veterans' Day November 11 
Thanksgiving Day 4

th
 Thursday in November 

Day After Thanksgiving 4
th
 Friday in November 

Christmas Day December 25  
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B.  Personal Leave: entitled to six days of Personal Leave in any calendar year.  It is prorated in the 

employee’s first year of state service, depending upon date of entry: 

 

Date of Entry Between # Personal Leave Days 
January 1 and February 28/29 6 

March 1 and April 30 5 
May 1 and June 30 4 

July 1 and December 31 3 
 

Personal Leave may not be accumulated.  Any unused Personal Leave as of the last day of the 

calendar year or upon termination of employment shall be forfeited.  It may be used for any reason, 

but it requires the supervisor's advance approval. 

{NOTE:  Part-time employees, working less than 50%, are not eligible to earn leave.} 

 

C. Annual Leave (Vacation): may be accumulated but an employee cannot carry more than 75 

days into the next calendar year.  For the first six months, a new employee does not have any 

Annual Leave available to him/her.  At the end of six months, the new employee is credited with 

1.0 hour of Annual Leave for every 26 hours worked of Annual Leave. All Annual Leave must be 

approved in advance by the employee's supervisor.  

   

Length Of Service Annual 
Leave 

No. Hrs. Leave For 
 Each 26 Hrs. Worked 

6 mo. to 5 years 10 Days per year 1 Hour 

6 - 10 yrs. 15 Days per year 1½ Hours 

11 - 20 yrs. 20 Days per year 2 Hours 

Over 20 yrs. 25 Days per year 2½ Hours 

 

D. Sick Leave: Earn 15 days per year (1½ hours accumulated for each 26 hours worked), unlimited 

accumulation.  Sick Leave should be conserved, used only in cases of personal illness with the 

inability to work, and illness of immediate family members. 

 

1. Personal sickness, injury, pregnancy, inability to work. 

 

2. Illness of immediate family members. 

 

3. Medical, dental, or optical examination or treatment. 

 

4. Exposure to contagious disease jeopardizing the health of others. 

 

5. Death in an employee's immediate family - maximum of a total of five (5) days, depending 

on need, for the following: spouse, children, including foster and step-children, parents, 

foster and step-parents, legal guardians, brothers, sisters, grandparents and grandchildren of 

the employee or of the spouse, and other relatives living as a member of the employee’s 

household.   Employees receive bereavement leave with pay for three (3) of the five (5) 
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days for the following relatives: employee’s spouse, children including foster and step-

children, employee’s parents, foster and step-parents, employee’s brothers and sisters, 

employee’s, grandparents and grandchildren. 

 

6. A maximum of one day might be charged to sick leave for death of any other relative, 

except cousins. 

 

 7.  A licensed medical provider's certificate is required to charge five (5) or more   (effective 

10/1/93) consecutive days to Sick Leave.  Certificates must include a statement by the 

licensed medical provider that the employee was "unable to work" during a specified period 

of absence. 

 

 8. Either parent responsible for the care and nurturing of a newborn or newly adopted child 

may take up to 30 days of accrued Sick Leave to care for the child. 

 

9. EMPLOYEE-TO-EMPLOYEE DONATED LEAVE PROGRAM and the LEAVE BANK                   

are available to all employees (except temporary employees) who have exhausted all 

accrued leave and have a serious and prolonged medical condition.  An employee may not 

receive more than 2,080 hours of donated leave from either program during the 

employee’s State Service. This, of course, is contingent upon meeting the established 

criteria under both programs.   

 

10. Unscheduled Absences: Employees may use up to six (6) Personal Leave Days, in a 

calendar year for any purpose whatsoever, without prior supervisory approval.  However, 

the supervisor must be notified of the intended absence within 30 minutes of the 

employee's normal reporting time. 

 

E. Military Leave - Entitled to a maximum of 15 days of leave each calendar year of ordered 

military activity.  Must provide a copy of military orders. 

 

F.  Accident Leave - Granted to employees who suffer disabling injuries that are compensable 

under the Maryland Workers' Compensation Act. Accident Leave is two-thirds of the 

employee's regular pay.   

 

G. Subpoena for Jury Service - Leave with pay given for Jury Duty when service is needed or if 

subpoenaed to appear in court or at other legal proceedings provided employee is neither a paid 

witness nor a party to the action. 

 

H. Merit Examinations/Interviews - Up to four (4) hours without loss of pay with advance notice 

and authorization of the supervisor. 

{Ref:  COMAR 06.01.11.16} 

 

I.  Leave of Absence Without Pay (LAW) - Employees may apply for up to 30 days leave without 

pay.  Leaves of absence without pay in excess of 30 days also require approval of the Executive 

Director of the Office of Human Resources and are considered separations from State service.  A 

two-year leave of absence is the maximum permitted. {Ref:  State Personnel & Pensions, Subtitle 

11, Section 9-1105} 
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J. Reasonable Accommodations for Disabilities Due to Pregnancy  

 

Under the recent amendments to State Government Article, Title 20, §20-609, pregnant employees 

now have a statutory right to a reasonable accommodation if the pregnancy causes or contributes to 

a disability and the accommodation does not impose an undue hardship on the employer.  

 

KEY PROVISIONS:  
An employee disabled contributed to or caused by pregnancy may request a reasonable 

accommodation and the employer must explore “all possible means of providing the reasonable 

accommodation.” The law lists a variety of options to consider in order to comply with a request for 

a reasonable accommodation including:  
Changing job duties  

Changing work hours  

Relocation  

Providing mechanical or electrical aids  

Transfers to less strenuous or less hazardous positions  

Providing leave  

 

 

Know your rights and responsibilities under the law. Contact the State of Maryland, Commission on 

Human Relations for more information: www. mchr.state.md.us or call (800) 637-6247. 

 

 

 

XIII WORKER'S COMPENSATION  

 

EMPLOYEES ARE PROTECTED FOR ACCIDENTAL INJURIES OCCURRING ON THE JOB 

PROVIDED THE INJURY FALLS WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE WORKER'S 

COMPENSATION LAW. 

 

A. Report incident immediately to supervisor. 

B. See a doctor, obtain first aid promptly. 

 

C. Supervisor completes first report of injury form. 

 

XIV. SEPARATION AND RETURN 

 

A. Resignation: Advise supervisor in writing at least two weeks prior to effective date. Resigning 

employees will be paid for any unused Annual Leave and up to two (2) days of earned 

compensatory time. {Ref:  COMAR .06.01.01.51A; COMAR 06.01.11.19D} 

 

B. Transfer:  An employee may request a transfer within the agency or to another Department in 

the same job classification by writing to the Department of Budget and Management, Office of 

Personnel Services and Benefits.  Then the employee's name will be placed on the appropriate 

eligible list as a transfer eligible.  Employees cannot be transferred without their consent.  A 

minimum of two weeks notice must be given to a supervisor if an employee is going to 

transfer from his/her present position. 

 

C. Lay-Off: Skilled and Professional Service employees may be laid off if the employee’s 

position is abolished or discontinued because of lack of work or change in organization.  
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Employees affected by a layoff must be given 60 days notice prior to the effective date of the 

layoff.  Names of lay-offs are placed on eligible lists and given employment priority. {Ref:  

State Personnel and Pensions, Title 11, Subtitle 2} 

 

D. Reinstatement: Permanent State employees, i.e., those who have completed an original 

probationary period, and resign from State Service may be reinstated without the need for 

Merit System examination and be given credit for prior salary and service, provided the 

employee returns to active service within three (3) years from the date of separation from 

active service. 

 

 

XVII. EMPLOYER/EMPLOYEE RELATIONS  
 

A. Grievance: A dispute between an employee and the employee’s “employer” about the interpretation 

and application of State employee personnel rules, regulations or policies over which management 

has control.  The State laws, regulations and policies are made available to employees by the DHMH 

Office of Human Resources on upon request. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

B. Grievance Procedure: Except for employees in the Executive Service, and others excluded by law, 

the grievance procedure is available to all non-temporary Executive Branch employees in the State 

Personnel Management system.  The following disputes are not grievable: 

 

1. An oral reprimand or counseling; 

2. A pay grade or range for a classification; 

3. The amount or the effective date of a statewide pay increase; 

4. The establishment of a classification; 

5. The assignment of a classification to a Service category; and 

6. The establishment of classification standards 

 

C.  Grievance Process: Prior to initiating the grievance, the employee must talk to the employee’s 

supervisor about the dispute.  The employee has 20 days from the time he/she gains knowledge of the 

complaint to file an official grievance.   

This is a three step process initiated by an aggrieved employee utilizing the "Universal Appeal and 

Grievance Form". The following steps are involved:  

 

STEP 1 - Employee to Appointing Authority 

STEP 2 - Employee to Secretary of Department of Health and Mental Hygiene or designee 

STEP 3 -  Employee to the Department of Budget and Management; if not settled then the 

Department of Budget and Management forwards to the Office of Administrative 

Hearings. 
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 D.  Grievance Rights 

1. Representative of Employee's choosing 

2. Reasonable amount of release time with prior approval of supervisor 

3.   Right to appeal decision rendered to the next step. 

 

PLEASE NOTE: The law provides separate appeal and rebuttal procedures for employee complaints 

concerning performance evaluations of “satisfactory” or better and employee counseling memoranda.  

Grievances involving employee performance evaluations of “satisfactory” or better may be appealed only 

to the appointing authority, and then, if necessary, to the head of the principal unit (the Secretary of 

DHMH). The decision of the head of the principal unit is final.  A counseling memorandum is not a 

disciplinary action.  The employee is entitled to submit, within five (5) days of receipt of the 

memorandum, a written response which will be included with the counseling memorandum in the 

employee’s personnel file.  {Ref: State Personnel and Pensions, Title 11 and Title 12} 

 

E.   Discipline:  
1. Conduct-related discipline results from some form of employee misconduct, either an 

action or inaction of the employee that is a violation of a statute, regulation, policy, 

directive, or order. 

 

 

2. Performance-related discipline results from the employee’s pattern of poor work habits or 

poor performance of the assigned job duties. 

 

 

NOTE:  An employee who is subject to a disciplinary action may appeal that action to the Secretary of 

DHMH or Designee within fifteen (15) calendar days after receiving notice from the Appointing 

Authority. 

 

 

F.  Employee Counseling: Either supervisor or subordinate in need of employer-employee 

relations/personnel counseling may contact the Office of Human Resources  Employee/ Employer 

Relations Unit for assistance. 

 

 
 

 

Final Note 
This New Employee Handbook is intended to provide you with a general summary of guidelines and information for 

DHMH employees. Please keep it available and review it in the event of any future questions. When further 

information is needed, please contact your Unit's Personnel Officer. 

 

We also encourage you to explore the many informative websites of the Department of Health & Mental Hygiene at 

http://dhmh.maryland.gov 

http://dhmh.maryland.gov/
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