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State Case Studies of Non-nurse Midwives 
 
 The DHMH Midwives Workgroup, along with the Chair, requested case studies from  
states that license Certified Professional Midwives (CPMs), which could serve as models for 
Maryland.  Ten states were selected for study.  Each of the ten states has differing degrees of 
specificity in their laws and regulations that oversee midwives.  Some laws/regulations focus 
more on the duties of the regulatory board or council, while others go into detail on the scope of 
practice for midwives.  Every state has requirements related to application and renewal fees, but 
these are not mentioned in the comments section for the sake of brevity. 
 
California - 1973 
Regulatory 
Body 

Title State 
Oversight 

Certification/ 
Exam 

Prescriptive 
Authority? 

Education/  
Pre-requisites  

Midwifery 
Advisory 
Council; 
members 
appointed by 
the Medical 
Board 

Licensed 
midwife 

Medical 
Board  

NARM exam No 3 year post-
secondary 
midwifery 
education 
program (84 
semester units 
or 126 quarter 
units) 

Comments: Licensed midwives practice under the supervision of a licensed physician or surgeon 
and the ratio of midwives to supervising physicians may not exceed 4:1.  Half of the Midwifery 
Advisory Council is made up of licensed midwives and the other half is licensees of the board 
and members of the public who have an interest in midwifery.  Academic and clinical 
preparation must be equivalent to programs accredited by ACNM or deemed equivalent by the 
board if the applicant holds licensure in another state with licensing standards equivalent to those 
of California.  Midwives who attend out-of-hospital births must report annually to the Office of 
Statewide Health Planning and Development on a criteria specified by the board.  If a midwife 
fails to report, s/he will be unable to renew her/his license until the report is submitted.  Licenses 
must be renewed every two years, along with proof of 36 hours of continuing education.  
Wherever possible, midwives must make a good faith effort to ensure that a second midwife, or 
qualified birth attendant certified in adult and infant CPR, is available during delivery.  
Midwives may provide care to a client with significant risk factors if the client provides 
informed refusal to be evaluated and transferred to a physician.  Referrals to physician during 
antepartum care does not preclude the possibility of home birth if, after the referral, the client 
does not have or no longer has any of the conditions listed in the Standards of Care.  Midwives 
must provide clients with informed consent if clients are attempting a VBAC.   
 
Delaware – 1978 
Regulatory 
Body 

Title State 
Oversight 

Certification/
Exam 

Prescriptive 
Authority? 

Education/  
Pre-requisites 

Division of 
Public Health 

Direct-entry/ 
non-nurse 
midwife 

Department of 
Health and 
Social 
Services 

CPM from 
NARM or 
CM from 
ACNMCC 

No Complete 
accredited 
midwifery 
program 
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Comments: Before a permit is granted, an applicant must provide proof the s/he has not been 
convicted of a felony; been professionally penalized or convicted of substance addiction; had a 
professional midwifery license suspended or revoked in this or another state; been professionally 
penalized or convicted of fraud; and is physically and mentally capable of engaging in the 
practice of midwifery.  A collaborative agreement must be established with a physician who has 
obstetrical hospital privileges.  An applicant must also submit a sample contract between the 
midwife and patient outlining scope of practice and potential risk factors and complications.  
Permits must be renewed annually.  Any midwives practicing without a permit are subject to a 
fine. 
 
Florida - 1995 
Regulatory 
Body 

Title State 
Oversight 

Certification/
Exam 

Prescriptive 
Authority? 

Education/  
Pre-requisites 

Council of 
Licensed 
Midwives; 9 
members 
appointed by 
the secretary 

Licensed 
midwife 

Department 
of Health 

NARM 
exam 

No 3 year approved 
training 
program with 
clinical, 
didactic, and 
practical 
preceptorship; 
at least 21 years 
old 

Comments: The Council of Licensed Midwives is made up of one physician who is certified by 
the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology and practices obstetrics, one physician who is 
certified by the American Board of Family Physicians, one physician who is certified by the 
American Board of Pediatrics, four licensed midwives, and one resident who is not a midwife 
and has no financial interest in midwifery practice or in any health care facility, agency, or 
insurer.  The department sets the standards for midwifery training programs, which must 
incorporate the core competencies of MANA and ACNM, be at least three years long, and 
include basic nursing skills.  In order to be accepted into an approved midwifery program, an 
applicant must have a high school diploma or equivalent and have taken three college-level 
credits each of math and English or demonstrated competencies in communication and 
computation.  An applicant for licensure must be at least twenty-one years old, have a certificate 
or diploma from a foreign institution or out of state program that is substantially equivalent to the 
State’s programs or hold a valid certificate or license to practice midwifery in another state if the 
requirements are equivalent to the State’s, submit proof of completion of a four-month pre-
licensure course, and pass the state exam.  Student midwives must care for no less than fifty 
women in each of the prenatal, intrapartum, and postpartum periods and observe an additional 
twenty-five women in the intrapartum period.  Of note is that any hospital or birth center that 
receives public funds is required to provide student midwives access to observe labor, delivery, 
and postpartum procedures.  Licenses must be renewed every two years, along with proof of 
continuing education (not to exceed 20 hours biennially).  A licensed midwife may fulfill up to 5 
hours of credits by providing pro bono services to indigent person or underserved populations in 
areas of critical need within Florida and may receive up to 3 hours of credits for presenting 
continuing educational programs.  The department may issue temporary certificates to practice in 
areas of critical need (as determined by the department) for no more than two years.  The 
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midwife may only practice in those specific areas, under supervision of physician, CNM, or 
licensed midwife.  Practicing midwifery unlicensed is a third degree felony. 
 
Louisiana - 1985 
Regulatory 
Body 

Title State 
Oversight 

Certification/
Exam 

Prescriptive 
Authority? 

Education/ 
Pre-requisites 

Louisiana 
Advisory 
Commission 
on 
Midwifery; 7 
members 
appointed by 
the governor 
and 
confirmed by 
the senate 

Licensed 
midwife/ 
apprentice 
midwife/ 
senior 
apprentice 
midwife 

Board of 
Medical 
Examiners 

NARM exam No Apprentice 
program; 
didactic and 
supervised 
clinical under 
MD, CRNM, 
or CM  

Comments: The Louisiana Advisory Committee on Midwifery is made up of one physician, one 
pediatrician, one registered nurse with obstetrical experience or a certified nurse midwife, three 
midwives, and one consumer of midwifery services.  A physician must determine whether a 
pregnant woman is essentially normal for pregnancy and childbirth initially and then again at 
thirty-six weeks of pregnancy.  Full CPM credential is required for licensure.  Permits must be 
renewed every two years, along with evidence of 30 contact hours of continuing education and 
current certification in CPR.  Midwives are prohibited from providing prenatal and intrapartum 
care to patients who are attempting a VBAC, except upon the express approval of the board.  The 
midwife or client may apply to the board if a physician has previously evaluated the client and 
determined that vaginal delivery represents no untoward medical/obstetrical risk for the client 
and is not contraindicated. 
 
New Jersey - 2002 
Regulatory 
Body 

Title State 
Oversight 

Certification/
Exam 

Prescriptive 
Authority? 

Education/ 
Pre-requisites 

Board of 
Medical 
Examiners, 
Midwife 
Liaison 
Committee 

Certified 
midwife or 
certified 
professional 
midwife 

Professions 
and 
Occupations 

NARM, 
ACC, or 
ACNM 

No Complete 
accredited 
midwife 
program 

Comments: The Midwifery Liaison Committee is made up of at least one certified nurse 
midwife, at least one certified professional midwife, at least one certified midwife, two other 
midwives, one certified nurse midwife who is a member of the Board of Medical Examiners, and 
two physicians, one of whom is a member of the Board of Medical Examiners and one of whom 
is Board-certified by either by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology, the American 
Osteopathic Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology, or any other certification organization with 
comparable standards.  In addition to the application for licensure, the applicant must submit 
proof that s/he is over age eighteen; an official transcript form an accredited midwifery program; 
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a notarized copy of Certification issued by either ACNM. ACC, or NARM; the applicant’s 
curriculum vitae; and three photographs of the applicant, signed, dated, and notarized.  Midwives 
must be affiliated with a physician who has hospital privileges in operative 
obstetrics/gynecology, has a binding agreement with a physician who has hospital privileges in 
operative obstetrics/gynecology, or holds hospital privileges in gynecology if a licensee limits 
his/her practice to non-obstetrical. Licenses must be renewed every two years.  A midwife must 
manage antepartum patients who have had a previous cesarean delivery with a physician and 
may only deliver these patients in a licensed hospital.   
 
New Mexico - 1978 
Regulatory 
Body 

Title State 
Oversight 

Certification/
Exam 

Prescriptive 
Authority? 

Education/ 
Pre-requisites 

Licensed 
Midwifery 
Advisory 
Board; 9 
members and 
1 ex-officio 
member 
appointed by 
the division 

Licensed 
midwife 
(CPMs must 
be licensed) 

Public Health 
Division of 
the 
Department 
of Health  

NARM exam No New Mexico 
midwifery 
standards 

Comments: The Licensed Midwifery Advisory Board is made up of three licensed midwives, at 
least two of whom are actively practicing; one actively practicing certified nurse midwife; three 
consumers; one physician actively practicing obstetrics; one member from the division; and a 
representative of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau in the division who will be an ex-officio 
member.  An applicant for an apprentice midwife permit must provide proof of high school 
diploma or equivalent.  An applicant for midwifery licensure must pass the division-approved 
exam or submit proof of CPM certification, submit proof of current certification in CPR for 
adults and intravenous therapy, and submit proof of current recognition by the Neonatal 
Resuscitation Program of the American Academy of Pediatrics.  Licenses must be renewed every 
two years must include proof of completion of thirty contact hours of continuing education, 
current certification in CPR for adults and intravenous therapy, current recognition by the 
Neonatal Resuscitation Program of the American Academy of Pediatrics, evidence of peer 
review participation with the last four years, and proof of having submitted quarterly reports to 
the division in the interim.  Every woman seeking midwifery care must be referred at least once 
to a physician within four weeks of initiating midwifery care.  It is the responsibility of the 
midwife to consult with a physician or refer/transfer to a physician/hospital if there are 
deviations from normal in either the woman or neonate.   
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Oregon - 1993 
Regulatory 
Body 

Title State 
Oversight 

Certification/
Exam 

Prescriptive 
Authority? 

Education/ 
Pre-requisites 

State Board of 
Direct Entry 
Midwifery; 7 
members 
appointed by 
the governor 

Direct entry 
midwife  

Health 
Licensing 
Agency 

NARM  No Didactic and 
clinical 
requirement  

Comments: Licensure is voluntary for purposes of reimbursement under Medical Assistance 
programs and is not required for practice of direct entry midwifery.  Licensed midwives are 
permitted to use medications while unlicensed midwives are not.  The State Board of Direct 
Entry Midwifery is made up of four licensed direct entry midwives, one certified nurse midwife, 
one physician involved in obstetrical care or education, and one member of the public.  An 
applicant for licensure need only submit an application. Licenses must be renewed annually.  
Proof of current certification in CPR for infants and adults and continuing education that must 
include training in use of legend drugs and devices (number of hours are not specified in the 
regulations) must be submitted with renewal application.  The CPM credential is accepted as 
meeting all licensure criteria.  If a midwife has attended fewer than five births in the previous 
year, s/he must take an additional ten hours of continuing education as prescribed by the board.   
 
Texas - 1983 
Regulatory 
Body 

Title State 
Oversight 

Certification/
Exam 

Prescriptive 
Authority? 

Education/ 
Pre-requisites 

Midwifery 
Board; 9 
members 
appointed by 
the 
commissioner 

Licensed 
midwife 

Department 
of Health 
Services 

NARM 
exam or any 
other 
approved by 
the Board 

No NARM-
approved or 
MEAC-
accredited 
program, 
didactic and 
clinical training 
or 
apprenticeship 

Comments: The Midwifery Board is made up of five licensed midwives, one physician who is 
certified in obstetrics and gynecology, one physician who is certified in family medicine or 
pediatrics, and two members of the public who are not health care professionals and one of 
whom is a parent of at least one child delivered by midwife.  The midwifery board must prepare 
and publish reports on midwifery practice in Texas that include statistics on fetal morbidity and 
mortality.  The board must approve any basic midwifery education offered in the state.  In order 
to be accepted in to a midwifery training program, an applicant must have a high school diploma 
or equivalent and current CPR certification.  Licensure is required to practice midwifery.  In 
addition to submitting a dated application, an applicant must submit a statement that s/he read the 
Occupations Code and board rules and agrees to abide by both, proof of basic midwifery 
education, proof of proper training in newborn screening tests or arrangements for the 
performance of those tests, proof of current certification in CPR for health care providers, proof 
of current certification in neonatal resuscitation, and evidence of passing the jurisprudence exam.  
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The jurisprudence exam covers the Texas Midwifery Act, chapter, and other Texas laws that 
pertain to midwifery practice.  Licenses must be renewed every two years and must include a 
statement of all misdemeanor and felony offenses for which the licensee has been convicted, 
proof of completion of at least twenty contact hours of continuing education in the last two years, 
proof of current certification in CPR, proof of current neonatal resuscitation, and proof of 
passing the jurisprudence exam in the last four years.  If a midwife states or advertises that s/he 
is “certified”, s/he must also include a statement that s/he is certified by the North American 
Registry of Midwives, not a governmental entity.  A person who practices without a license is 
liable for a civic penalty.  It is the midwife’s responsibility to initiate emergency care.  The 
midwife must recommend referral to patients who have had a previous cesarean section and the 
midwife must recommend transfer for patients who have had a previous cesarean section with a 
vertical or classical incision or any uterine surgery which required incision in the uterine fundus.  
In lieu of referral or transfer, a midwife may manage a patient in collaboration with an 
appropriate health care professional.   
 
Virginia - 2005 
Regulatory 
Body 

Title State 
Oversight 

Certification/
Exam 

Prescriptive 
Authority? 

Education/ 
Pre-requisites 

Advisory 
Board of 
Midwifery; 5 
members 
appointed by 
governor with 
senate 
approval  
(NARM 
document 
incorrectly 
stated it was a 
10-member 
board) 

Certified 
professional 
midwife 

Department 
of Health 
Professions, 
Virginia 
Board of 
Medicine 

NARM No No 
educational 
requirement 

Comments: The Advisory Board is made up of three certified professional midwives, one 
physician or certified nurse midwife who has experience in out-of-hospital birth settings, and one 
citizen who has used out-of-hospital midwifery services.  An applicant must submit proof that 
s/he has obtained the CPM credential and that there has been no adverse action taken against the 
applicant based on a report from NARM.   Licenses must be renewed every two years. 
Attestation of current, active CPM certification by NARM must be submitted with renewal.   
 



 

  7

Washington - 1991 

Regulatory 
Body 

Title State 
Oversight 

Certification/
Exam 

Prescriptive 
Authority? 

Education/ 
Pre-requisites 

Midwifery 
Advisory 
Committee; 7 
members 
appointed by 
the secretary 

Midwife Department of 
Health 

NARM 
exam and 
state exam 

No High school 
diploma, 
certificate or 
a diploma 
from 
midwifery 
program 
accredited by 
the secretary, 
minimum of 3 
years of 
training 

Comments: The Midwifery Advisory Committee is made up of one physician who is practicing 
obstetrics, one practicing physician, one certified nurse midwife, three midwives, and one public 
member who has no financial interest in the rendering of health services.  An applicant must 
obtain at least three years of midwifery training that includes the study of basic nursing skills.  
Student midwives must care for no less than fifty women in each of the prenatal, intrapartum, 
and postpartum periods and observe an additional fifty women in the intrapartum period.  
Applicants must also pass a state exam unless they are credentialed in another state and the 
secretary determines that the other state’s credentialing standards are substantially equivalent to 
Washington’s.  In addition to submitting an application, an applicant must provide proof the s/he 
has received a high school diploma or equivalency, is at least twenty-one years of age, and has 
received a certificate or diploma from a midwifery program accredited by the secretary or a 
foreign institution on midwifery of equal requirements conferring the full right to practice 
midwifery in the country in which it was issued.  Licenses must be renewed annually and must 
include the midwife’s written plan for consultation with other health care providers, emergency 
transfer, transport of an infant to a newborn nursery or neonatal intensive care unit, and transport 
of a woman to an appropriate obstetrical department or patient care area.  It is the midwife’s duty 
to consult with a physician if a patient deviates from normal.   
 
Acronyms: 
ACC: American College of Nurse Midwives Certification Council 
ACNM: American College of Nurse Midwives 
CNM: certified nurse midwife 
CPM: certified professional midwife 
CPR: cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
MANA: Midwives Alliance of North America 
MEAC: Midwifery Education Accreditation Council 
NARM: North American Registry of Midwives 
VBAC: vaginal birth after cesarean 
 
Prepared by DHMH staff for the Midwives Workgroup and 
presented at the October 25, 2012 meeting. 


