Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

MDCKD : Home

Welcome to the Maryland Commission on Kidney Disease

The Mission of the Commission of Kidney Disease is to protect the citizens of Maryland and to promote quality health care in the field of nephrology and transplantation by:

  • Certifying dialysis and transplant centers
  • Receiving and resolving complaints from the public, patients, courts, employers, employees, insurance companies, other centers regarding the health care providers in the center who may have violated the Commission's law (Annotated Code of Maryland, Health General Article, Title 13) and its regulations found at COMAR 10.30.01; and
  • Setting standards for the practice of chronic dialysis and transplantation that reflect new and emergent developments in the practice of chronic dialysis and kidney transplantation through regulations and legislation.


Commission Members:

Luis Gimenez, MD - Chairman
William Frederick, RN - Vice Chairman
Bernard Jaar, MD
Edward Kraus, MD
Paul Light, MD
Belinda Lindsay, LGSW
Kulwant Modi, MD
William Rayfield II., MD
Henita Schiff
Kimberly Sylvester, RN
James Stankovic
Matthew Weir, MD


Eva Schwartz, MS, MT, SBB (ASCP), Executive Director
Donna Adcock, RN, Healthcare Surveyor
Leslie Schulman, AAG, Commission Counsel


Office of The Governor

Commission Meetings

  • January 22nd, 2015
  • April 23rd, 2015
  • July 16th, 2015
  • October 15th, 2015

Stay Connected

4201 Patterson Avenue, Room 310
Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299
Phone: (410) 764-4799
Fax: (410) 358-3083