Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Board of Dietetic Practice

Contact the Board:

About the Board of Dietetic Practice

Welcome to the Maryland State Board of Dietetic Practice. The Board operates under the Maryland Dietitians and Licensed Nutritionists Act, Health Occupations Article, Title 5, Annotated Code of Maryland. The State Board of Dietetic Practice (the "Board") is the licensing authority of dietitians and nutritionists in the State of Maryland. The Board is mandated to regulate the practice of dietetics in Maryland by licensing qualified dietitians and nutritionists, establishing fees, maintaining a current roster of all licensees, promulgating regulations for the practice of dietetics, verification of credentials, issuance of licenses, establish requirements for and verification of completion of continuing education, investigation of complaints based on alleged violations of regulations and statutes, formal and informal disciplining of licensees, create committees as deemed appropriate to advise the Board, and submit an annual report to the Governor and Secretary.


The Mission of the Board of Dietetic Practice is to protect the citizens of Maryland and to promote quality health care in the field of dietetics by licensing and certifying dietitians and nutritionists, setting standards for the practice of dietetics through regulations and legislation, and receiving and resolving complaints from the public regarding dietitians and nutritionists.

Hot Topic

Board Membership

All Board members are appointed by the Governor and serve a four-year term, with eligibility for a second term. The Board currently has a Community or Public Health Dietetic Practice vacancy on the Board. In addition, Margo Gladding, CNS, LDN, Nutritionist Board Member, is eligible for reappointment to the Board. Although Ms. Gladding is eligible for reappointment, the Board is required to notify all licensees of the positions.


If you are interested in serving on the Board, please contact:

Kim Bennardi, Administrator
Office of Appointments and Executive Nominations
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
201 W. Preston Street, 5th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201
Office: 410-767-4049
Fax: 410-333-7687