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As you know, in order to renew your Maryland dental hygiene license every 2 years, you need no less than 30 
hours of Board-approved continuing education courses which must be completed over a 2-year period ending on 
December 31 of the year preceding the year in which the license is due for renewal. 
 
On October 13, 2014 amendments to the Board’s continuing education requirements became effective. Prior to the 
amendments there was discussion whether the Board would continue to require dentists and dental hygienists to 
complete, every other renewal cycle, a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect  as it relates to 
Maryland law. This e-mail is to advise you that the requirement to complete the course still exists. 
 
The course will continue to count toward the 30 hours of required continuing education. The course is required 
every other renewal cycle. Therefore if you were required to complete the course in abuse and neglect as it relates 
to Maryland law for your 2011 renewal, you will be required to complete the course for your 2015 license renewal.  
 
As you know, continuing education must generally be completed by December 31st of the year preceding license 
renewal. Because of the relative short notice provided by this e-mail, all dental hygienists will be given an 
automatic extension until June 30, 2015 to complete the course on abuse and neglect. Remember that the course 
on abuse and neglect need only be completed as a condition of 2015 license renewal if you were required to 
complete the course in 2011. If you completed the course as a condition of license renewal in 2013, you will not be 
required to complete the course until you apply to renew your license in 2017.   
 
The automatic extension applies only to the 2015 license renewal period and the course on abuse and neglect. If 
you have not completed the remainder of your continuing education classes by December 31st, you must request 
an extension until June 30, 2015 in the normal course. The request for an extension must be in writing and 
transmitted either by fax, e-mail, or letter. 
 
If you have any questions, please contact Ms. Debbie Welch, Dentist Licensing Coordinator, by phone at  
410-402-8511. Ms. Welch’s email address is debbie.welch@maryland.gov, and her fax number is 410-402-8505.  
 
The Board apologizes for any inconvenience.  
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