MARYLAND STATE BOARD FOR THE CERTIFICATION OF RESIDENTIAL CHILD
CARE PROGRAM PROFESSIONALS

4201 Patterson Avenue - 5" Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21215

(410-764-5996)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR
RESIDENTIAL CHILD AND YOUTH CARE PRACTITIONERS

Please complete the Residential Child and Youth Care renewal application online. This is a
fillable word document. All incomplete applications will be charged $5.00 per COMAR
10.57.07.01.

Personal Information Section

Name — Your name will appear on all documents and correspondence as you list on the
Application: (1) the name must be your legal name, (2) the name on your Driver’s license

or identification. (3) If you have changed your name, please complete a Name Change form
and mail with your application to the Board. You should mail a copy of your birth certificate,
marriage certificate, or divorce decree showing name change.

Maiden — include all past names used, such as maiden, etc...
Social Security Number — You must provide your social security number

Email Address — The State Board disseminates all correspondence via electronic email
(““email’”). Therefore, it is important that you provide and maintain a current email address
with the State Board. If you have moved since you were initially certified, please complete the
online form and update your address.

You are required to notify the Board within 30 days of change in (1) Name of certificate
Holder; (2) Home address of the certificate holder; (3) Electronic email address of the
certificate holder, or (4) Name or address of employer or business connection of the certificate
holder. The Board requires for name changes that appropriate documentation accompany the
name.

Residential Child Care Program

If you are affiliated with a Residential Child Care Program, you must provide the agency’s
name, mailing address and indicate the licensing authority for the program, checking one or
more of the boxes, DHR, DHMH, DJS, DDA.



Race/Ethnic Identification

This section must be completed, check all that apply.

Questions Section -Felony Charges and Convictions

All Felony charges and convictions must be answered. Make sure you are answering the
questions correctly. It is extremely important that you take time to read the questions thoroughly
in this section. You will be held accountable if you do not answer correctly.

For each question answered with a “Yes” please attach a detailed written explanation.
For questions #4 and #5 provide a copy of (arrest and charges), copy of police/court records
and final disposition, since your last certification.

Please check the boxes stating whether you have completed your Child Protective Services
form and Live Scan Fingerprint for State and Federal Background Check. Please only use
forms that are listed on the Board’s website.

Licenses, Certificates or Registrations Held

List all (active, inactive, or non-renewed) licenses, certifications or registrations held in ANY
State, including Maryland. You do not need to include certified copies if you have already submitted
during your initial certification, you only need to include them on your application in this section.

If you have received a new license, certificate, registration that you did not have when your
were initially certified, for example, you where not registered/certified as a Medication
Technician during your initial certification, but you are now certified for the first time, as a
Medication Technician, you would need to include this information on your application and
request verification of your Medication Technician registration/certificate to be mailed
directly to the Board. State License Affidavit form can be downloaded from the Board’s
website.

Continuing Education Units Requirements

You are required to submit 20 continuing education units for renewal of your Residential

Child and Youth Care certificate, that provide a fundamental working knowledge of the varied
aspects of performing the direct care responsibilities related to activities of daily living, self-
help, and socialization to children and youth in Residential Child Care programs. Continuing
education requirements must be completed within the 2-year period before your renewal date.
An Affidavit of Attendance form for recording continuing education courses may be downloaded
from the Board’s website, (this form will need to be submitted with your Renewal application).
Continuing Education units must include a certificate of completion and submitted to the Board
at the time of renewal. The certificates should include the Residential Child and Youth Care
Practitioner’s name, date of attendance and the number of continuing education units earned.



The certificate should also be signed by the individual who is the presenter. Please attach
agenda and syllabus for seminars and conferences attended.

Please Note: First Renewal Only

If you have not completed the Seven Online Training Modules, you may complete the Modules
as part of your ceu requirements for your first renewal.

You will earn 18 continuing education units from the Seven Modules. Or, if you participated

in the Beta Testing at the University of Maryland School of Innovations and Implementations in
November and December of 2014 you may use your certificates of completion to earn ceus
toward your first renewal. The number of ceus earned should be included on your certificate.

Please do not send duplicate ceus, you will not receive credit for duplicate ceus.

Please visit the Board’s website at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/crccp for more information
regarding continuing education. Questions regarding renewal can be sent via email to
Gwendolyn.Joyner@maryland.gov

All applicants must complete the Third Party Release. The RCYCP is not the Third Party,
please include a staff member at the residential facility, such as Human Resources staff person
or Program Administrator to receive information about the status of your renewal application.
(If You do not want Board staff to give the status of your application to a third party, please put
N/A) DO NOT LEAVE THIS SECTION BLANK.

Affirmation and Signature

This section affirms the information on the application, no willful misrepresentations or
falsifications and that the information is true and complete to the best of your knowledge
and belief. The State may verify any information on the application. Any willful
misrepresentation is cause for immediate denial of the application or later revocation of
certification.

Acknowledgment that the applicant has received, read and understands the Maryland
Certification of Residential Child and Youth Care Program Professionals Act. Further practice
as a Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner without an active certificate is a violation
of the Maryland Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals Act.

In addition, this section provides information regarding the Notice of Mailing List. The
information collected on the certification application form and the certification renewal or
reinstatement form is collected for the purpose of the State Board’s functions under the
Maryland Health Occupations Code Annotated Title 20. Failure to provide the information may
result in the denial of your application for initial, renewal or reinstatement of certification. You


http://dhmh.maryland.gov/crccp
mailto:Gwendolyn.Joyner@maryland.gov

have the right to inspect, amend and correct information. The State Board may permit
inspection of this form, or make it available to others, only as permitted by Federal and State
Law. The State Board may sell or provide lists of certificate holders’ names and addresses to
professional associations and other entities. Under the Maryland Public Information Act,
Maryland State Government Code Annotated 810-67, you may request that your name be
omitted from such lists.
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