
Maryland State Board for the Certification of Residential Child Care Program 
Professionals 

4201 Patterson Avenue – 5th Floor 
Baltimore, Maryland 21215 

 (410-764-5052  
 

INFORMATION FOR COMPLETING THE RESIDENTIAL CHILD AND YOUTH CARE 
PRACTITIONER APPLICATION 

 
A residential child care program is an entity that provides for children 24-hours per day care with 
a structured set of services and activities that are designed to achieve specific objectives relative 
to the needs of children serviced and that include the provision of food, clothing, shelter, 
education, social services, health and mental health, recreation, or any combination of these 
services and activities.  All residential child care programs licensed in Maryland are required 
to have a Certified Child and Youth Care Practitioner on staff.  An individual must be certified 
by the State Board before an individual may work as a Residential Child and Youth Care 
Practitioner in Maryland. 
 
Effective October 1, 2015 all Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioners (RCYCP), formerly 
Known as “residential child care workers”, employed in the state of Maryland will be required to 
be certified by the state Board before October 1, 2015, unless:  the RCYCP is an employee of the 
Maryland School for the Blind who is a residential child and youth care practitioner and holds a 
current paraprofessional certificate.  Health Occupations Article §20-301 (i). 
 
The RCYCP is participating in a Board – approved training program that leads to certification 
within 180 days of hire.  Health Occupations Article §20-301 (ii). 
 
 The application must be typed or printed legibly. All items on the application form must 

be completed, signed and dated.  The application form must be notarized. 
 
 All documents must be original, on the forms currently in use by the State Board and 

submitted as a COMPLETE application packet.  Incorrect and incomplete applications 
will delay the review and approval process.  If you submit an incomplete application, you 
will be charged a $5.00 reprocessing fee.  The State Board WILL NOT process an 
application until it has received ALL required documentation. 
 

 If an applicant FAILS to provide the required document (s) within 120 days of the 
application. The State Board may either administratively close the application or deny 
the application, pursuant to COMAR 10.57.02.04.E. 
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I. Personal Information 
 Name – Your name will appear on all documents and correspondence as you list on the 
 application: (1) the name must be your legal name, (2) the name on your driver’s license 
 or identification. 
 

Maiden – include all past names used, such as maiden names, etc.  
 
Social Security Number – You must provide your social security number. 
 
E-Mail Address – The State Board disseminates all correspondence via electronic mail 
(“e-mail”). Therefore, it is important that you provide and maintain a current email 
address with the State Board.  
 
Military Status 
The Veterans Employment Act of 2013 became effective July 1, 2013 requiring specified 
licensing units and Boards to give credit to former service members for relevant military 
training, education, and experience in connection with the issuance of occupational and 
professional licenses, certificates, and regulations. 
 
“Service Member” means an individual who is an active duty member of: 
 

• The Armed Forces of the United States 
• A reserve component of the Armed Forces of the United States; or 
• The National Guard of any State 

            “Veteran” means a former service member who was discharged from active duty under 
            circumstances other than dishonorable within one year before the date on which the  
           application  for license, certificate, or registration is submitted. 
 
            “Veteran” does not include an individual who has completed active duty and has been  
              discharged for more than one year before the application for a license, certification, 
             or registration is submitted. 
 
          “Military Spouse” means the spouse of a service member or veteran, 
          “Military Spouse includes a surviving spouse of: 
 

• A veteran; or 
• A service member who died within one year before the date on which the  

application for license, certification, or registration is submitted. 
 
  If you are requesting Veteran preference please include a copy of DD Form 214 
If you are requesting Spouse preference please include a copy of DD form 2765 
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Please provide all other information as requested in this section.  
 

II. Educational Background 
Individuals must submit an official copy of their high school diploma or equivalent. If 
you have an Associate’s, Bachelor’s or Master’s degree from an accredited college or 
university, you must request an official college transcript from your college or 
university to be mailed to the Residential Child Care Program Professionals Board. If 
you submit an official transcript from your high school, college or university, with your 
RCYCP application,  the transcript must be in a sealed envelope from your school, and 
should not  be opened. 
 

           Educational credentials from foreign countries must be evaluated by a State Board   
            approved education review service. The State Board has approved the following  
            education review services:             

• International Consultants of Delaware, Inc. at 212-222-8454, extension 510 
(icd@icdel.com) 

• World Education Services, Inc. at 202.331.2925 (http://www.wes.org/). 
  
III. Licenses, Certifications, or Registrations Held  

List all (active, inactive, or non-renewed) licenses, certifications or registrations held in 
ANY state, including Maryland. Attach an additional 8 ½” sheet of paper if necessary.  
You must indicate the type of license – e.g., Human Service work, etc. Verification of 
Licensure, Certification or Registration must be provided to the State Board from 
each issuing Entity.  A State Licensure or Certification Affidavit may be downloaded 
from the State Board’s website at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/crccp. The Affidavit must be 
completed by the issuing entity and returned to the State Board. 
 
State Licensure or Certification Affidavit  
As referenced in Section III of the application and information, a State Licensure or 
Certification Affidavit must be completed by the issuing entity and returned to the State 
Board for all active, inactive, or non-renewed licenses, certifications or registrations held 
by the applicant in ANY state, including Maryland.  The form is available for download 
on the State Board’s website. 
 

IV. Felony and Professional Charges and Convictions 
Please answer all questions.  For each question answered with a “yes” you must attach a 
detailed explanation and certified copy of the police/court record and final disposition. 
 
State and National Criminal History Record Check  
All individuals seeking certification from the State Board must submit to a State and 
National criminal history record check (Health Occupations Article, §20-302C) and 
approved private providers authorized pursuant to COMAR 12.15.05 to collect and 
submit live fingerprints.  Criminal history record information obtained is sent directly 
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to the State Board and to you.  Information regarding your criminal history record check 
that is received by the Board will not be made available to the private provider.  The 
State Board’s authorization number through the Criminal Justice Information System- 
Central Repository (CJIS-CR) is -0800001123 and the ORI number is MD920520Z 
 
The Private Providers for fingerprinting can be found on the Department of Public Safety 
and Correctional Services website at 
http://www/dpscs.state.md.us/publicservs/fingerprint.shtml . The Criminal Justice 
Information System – Central Repository number is 410-764-4501 – Toll Free: 1-888-
795-0011. 
 
Although a receipt from the private provider or CJIS-CR is sufficient documentation that 
you have initiated your criminal history record check, your application WILL NOT be 
processed until the results of the criminal history background check are received by the 
State Board.  Positive results will require detailed explanations and court sealed records 
forwarded to the State Board. 
 
Consent for Release of Information/Background Clearance Request Child Protective 
Services Program 
All individuals seeking certification from the State Board must complete a Consent 
For Release of Information, (CPS) Adam Walsh Background Clearance Request.  The   
Consent for Release of Information form should be completed by the applicant and 
mailed directly to the Department of Social Services in the jurisdiction where the 
applicant lives, the form must be signed and notarized. (A contact list of agencies by 
County is listed on the Board’s website at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/crccp., under 
quick links titled: CPS Clearance Contacts).  If you have lived in other states, you are 
also required to request the Child Protective Services from each state you have lived 
within the last 10 years. Positive results will require detailed explanations and court 
sealed records forwarded to the State Board. 

 
V.  Residential Child Care Program Information 

If you are affiliated with a residential child care program, you must provide the agency’s 
name, mailing address, and indicate the licensing authority for the program.  
 

VI. Release to process Residential Child and Youth Care Application 
All applicants must sign and date this section on the application.  All applicants must 
complete the Third Party Release, if you plan to use an intermediary to receive 
information about the status of your application.  (If you do not plan to use an 
intermediary, please write N/A). 

 
Active, inactive, or non-renewed licenses, certifications or registrations held by the 
applicant in ANY state, including Maryland.  The form is available for download on the 
State Board’s website. 

 
 
 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
RCYCP Application Instructions – 04/21/2016 11:14 a.m.  Page 4 of 6 

http://www/dpscs.state.md.us/publicservs/fingerprint.shtml
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/crccp


VII. Affirmation and signature 
This section affirms the information on the application, no willful misrepresentations or 
falsifications and that the information is true and complete to the best of your knowledge 
and belief.  The State Board may verify any information on the application.  Any willful 
misrepresentation is cause for immediate denial of the application or later revocation of 
certification. 
 
Acknowledgment that the applicant has received, read and understands the Maryland 
Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals Act.  Further practice as 
a Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner without an active certificate is a 
violation of the Maryland Certification of Residential Child Care Program 
Professionals Act. 
 
In addition, this section provides information regarding the Notice of Mailing List.  The 
information collected on the certification application form and the certification renewal 
form is collected for the purpose of the State Board’s functions under the Maryland 
Health Occupations Code Annotated Title 20.  Failure to provide the information my 
result in the denial of your application for initial or renewal certification.  You have the 
right to inspect, amend, and correct information.  The State Board may permit inspection 
of this form, or make it available to others, only as permitted by Federal and State Law.  
The State Board may sell or provide lists of certificate holders’ names and addresses to  
professional associations and other entities.  Under the Maryland Public Information Act, 
Maryland State Government Code Annotated §10-617, you may request in that your 
name be omitted from such lists. 

 
Please Note:  Applicant must sign application in front of Notary. Notary must sign, 
date, and place Notary Seal in circle, picture must be placed in box on the application. 
Application will be mailed back if this information is missing. 
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APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 
The State Board WILL NOT consider an application until it has received ALL required 
Documentation.  Incorrect and incomplete applications will delay the review and 
approval process.  If you submit an incomplete application, a $5.00 processing will be 
charged. 
 
Therefore, before submitting your application, please review the items below: 
 
 Answered all questions on the Certification Application, signed and notarized the 

application 
 Copy of DD214 – Military Preference (if applicable) 
 Copy of Form DD2765 Identification and privilege card (if applicable) 
 Copy of appropriate educational diploma, high school, Associate’s, Bachelor’s degree 

or higher.  
 Completed State Licensure or Certification of Affidavit and forwarded to issuing 

entity (if applicable – if you hold any active, inactive, or non-renewed licenses, 
certificates or registrations in any State) 

 Submitted a State and National Criminal History Record Check through the Maryland 
CJIS operated live scan fingerprint site 

 Completed, notarized and mailed the Consent for Release of Information/Background 
Clearance Request, (CPS)/Adam Walsh Background Clearance to your local 
DHR/Social Services in the jurisdiction where you currently live. 

 If you answered “yes” to any of the questions in the Felony and Professional Charges 
and Convictions section, provide a detailed, written explanation, and a certified copy 
of the police/court record and final disposition. 

 Application fee of $50.00 - check or money order payable to BCRCCP 
 
Additional forms to submit with this application: 
 Completed OnSite RCYCP Program Orientation form. 
 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
STATE BOARD CONTACT INFORMATION 

MAILING ADDRESS: 
 

STATE BOARD FOR THE CERTIFICATION OF RESIDENTIAL CHILD CARE PROGRAM 
PROFESSIONALS 

Attention: RCYCP Application Review 
4201 Patterson Avenue – 4th Floor 

Baltimore, Maryland 21215 
 

PHONE: (410) 764-5052  FAX: (410) 358-5674      TTY FOR DISABLED: (800) 725-2256 

Website address: http://dhmh.maryland.gov/crccp 
Email address: dhmh.crccpa@maryland.gov  
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