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PRE-CHARGE CONSENT ORDER

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On September 14, 2007, the Maryland State Board of Social Work Examiners

(the “Board”), voted to offer a Pre-Charge Consent Order to Beth Louise Britton, LSWA,

(the “Respondent”), License Number A04906, in lieu of issuing Charges for violations of

the Maryland Social Workers Act (the “Act”), Md. Health Occ. Code Ann. (“H.0.") § 19-

101 et seq. (2000 Repl. Vol. & 2004 Supp.).

The pertinent provisions under §19-311 of the Act provide the following:

Subject to the hearing provisions of § 19-312 of this subtitle, the
Board, on the affirmative vote of a majority of its full authorized
membership, may deny a license to any applicant, reprimand any
licensee, place any licensee on probation, or suspend or revoke a
license if the licensee:

(1)

(4)

(6)

Obtained or attempted to obtain a license for the applicant or
licensee or for another through fraud, deceit, or
misrepresentation;

Commits any act of gross negligence, incompetence, or
misconduct in the practice of social work;

Knowingly violates any provision of this title;

Engages in a course of conduct that is inconsistent with
generally accepted professional standards in the practice of
social work;



(7)  Violates any provision of this title or regulations governing
the practice of social work adopted and published by the
Board; and

(12) Knowingly makes or files a false report or record in the
practice of social work([;].

The provision of the Act which the Board believes Respondent has violated is HO
§ 19-308 (d)(3)(ii), which provides that, before a license expires, the licensee
periodically may renew it for an additional 2-year term, if the licensee submits to the
Board “satisfactory evidence of compliance with any continuing education requirement
set under this section for license renewal.” Additionally, pursuant to Code of Maryland
Regulation (‘COMAR”) 10.42.06.03A, a “social worker shall complete a minimum of 40
continuing education units in each 2-year period in order to renew.”

Respondent was notified by certified mail of the Board's vote to enter into this
Pre-charge Consent Order prior to the issuance of formal disciplinary Charges under
the Act.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Board makes the following findings of fact:

1. Respondent is a social worker licensed to practice social work in the State
of Maryland.
2. Respondent was originally issued a license to practice social work in the

State of Maryland on November 13, 2002, being issued license number A04906.
3. Pursuant to COMAR 10.42.06.08B, the Board conducted an audit of social
workers whose licenses were renewed in October 2006, and Respondent was one of

the social workers who was audited at that time.



4, As part of the license renewal procedure, Respondent signed a statement
on her renewal application attesting that she had completed the continuing education
requirements for licensure.

5. Following the Board’s audit and investigation, the Board became aware
that Respondent did not, in fact, complete the required continuing education units as is
required for licensure renewal.

CONCLUSION OF LAW

Based on the above findings of fact, the Board concludes as a matter of law that
Respondent is in violation of HO § 19-311(1), (4), (5), (6), (7) and (12) as well as HO §
19-308(d)(3)(ii) and COMAR10.42.06.03A.

ORDER
Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is this 2:

day of (QW’””MV , 2007, by a majority of the full authorized membership of the

Board considering this case:

ORDERED that Respondent's license to practice social work shall be
REPRIMANDED:; and be it further

ORDERED that Respondent shall pay to the Board, for payment into the General
Fund of the State, a monetary fine in the amount of ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS
($1,000.00) within sixty (60) days of the date that this Consent Order is signed by the
Board; and be it further

ORDERED that Respondent will comply with and practice within all statutes and
regulations governing the practice of social work in the State of Maryland; and be it

further



ORDERED that any violation of any of the terms of this Consent Order shall
constitute unprofessional conduct; and be it further

ORDERED that if the Board has probable cause to believe that the public health,
safety or welfare imperatively requires emergency action, the Board, without prior notice
and an opportunity for a hearing, may summarily suspend the Respondent’s license,
provided that Respondent is given prompt written notice of the Board’s suspension, the
finding, and the reasons in support thereof, and an opportunity for a hearing in
accordance with Md. State Govt. Code Ann. § 10-226(c) (2004 Repl. Vol.); and be it
further

ORDERED that if Respondent violates any of the terms of this Consent Order,
the Board, after notice and a hearing, and a determination of violation, may impose any
other disciplinary sanctions it deems appropriate, said violation being proved by a
preponderance of evidence; and be it further

ORDERED that this Pre-Charge Consent Order is a public document pursuant to

Md. State Govt. Code Ann. § 10-611 ef seq.
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Date Yvonne M. Perret’ LCSW-C, Chair
Board of Social Work Examiners




CONSENT

I, BETH LOUISE BRITTON, LSWA, acknowledge that | have been informed that
| may be represented by counsel prior to signing this Consent Order and have
knowingly and voluntarily elected not to be represented by counsel.

| am aware that | am entitled to a formal evidentiary hearing before an
Administrative Law Judge at the Office of Administrative Hearings. [ acknowledge the
validity and enforceability of this Consent Order as if entered into after the conclusion of
a formal evidentiary hearing in which | would have the right to counsel, to confront
witnesses, to give testimony, to call witnesses on my own behalf, and to all other
procedural and substantive protections to which | am entitled by law. | am waiving
those procedural and substantive protections. | understand and agree that this Consent
Order results from formal disciplinary action and is, therefore, a public document.

| voluntarily enter into and agree to abide by the foregoing Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law and Order, and | agree to abide by the terms and conditions set
forth herein as a resolution of the Board’s case based on the findings set out herein. |
acknowledge and understand that the Board has entered into this Consent Order in lieu
of proceeding with formal Charges against me. | waive any right to contest the Findings
of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and | waive my right to a full evidentiary hearing as set
forth above, and any right to appeal this Consent Order or any adverse ruling of the

Board that might have followed any such hearing.



| acknowledge that by failing to abide by the conditions set forth in this Consent
Order, | may be subject to disciplinary actions, which may include revocation of my

license to practice social work.

| sign this Consent Order voluntarily, without reservation, and | fully understand
and comprehend the language, meaning and terms of this Consent Order, consisting of

six (6) pages.

/22 /- Bk Brtb

Date Beth Louise Britton, LSWA
Respondent

NOTARY

STATE OF MARYLAND
CITY/COUNTY of _ Uent ;@n«%L

| HEREBY CERTIFY that on this Qd~d day of {¢fober , 2007,

before me, a Notary Public of the State and County aforesaid, personally appeared Beth
Louise Britton, LSWA, and made oath in due form of law that the foregoing was her

voluntary act and deed.

AS WITNESS my hand and Notarial Seal.

[d b hp A

Notary Public

My Commission Expires: _ [ [7 L\?/l /L 6 4
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