Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

HOME : board_information

Program Description

The State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice (the "Board") operates under the provisions of Title 10 of the Health Occupations Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland. The Board is the licensing authority of Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapist Assistants in the State of Maryland. The Board is mandated to regulate the practice of Occupational Therapy in Maryland by licensing qualified occupational therapists and occupational therapist assistants, establishing fees, maintaining a current roster of all licensees, promulgating regulations for the practice of Occupational Therapy, verification of credentials, issuance of licenses, establish requirements for and verification of completion of continuing education, investigation of complaints based on alleged violations of regulations and statutes, formal and informal disciplining of licensees, create committees as deemed appropriate to advise the Board. The program is 100% special funded. The fund is supported exclusively by revenues generated by licensing fees. The Board consists of 7 members appointed by the Governor with the advice of the Secretary and advice of the Senate. Four members of the Board are licensed occupational therapists, one member is a licensed occupational therapist assistant, and two members represent the public.


The Mission of the Board of Occupational Therapy is to protect the citizens of Maryland and to promote quality health care in the field of Occupational Therapy by:

  1. Licensing occupational therapists and occupational therapist assistants;
  2. Setting standards for the practice of Occupational Therapy through regulations and legislation; and
  3. Receiving and resolving complaints from the public regarding occupational therapists and occupational therapist assistants who may have violated the Occupational Therapy law (Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article, Title 10) and its regulations found at COMAR 10.46.

Board Membership

The Board consists of 7 members: 4 Occupational therapists, 1 Occupational Therapy Assistant, and 2 Consumer Members. Each member is appointed by the Governor for a 4-year term. A member can serve a maximum of two terms.

The Board shall annually elect one or more chairpersons.  The Board shall determine the manner of election of the chairpersons; the term of office of the chairpersons; and the duties of the chairpersons.

Board Members

Iyna Adams, OTR/L, CPAM, Board Chairperson
Vanessa Hughes, COTA/L, Board Vice Chairperson
Wanda R. Banks, OTR/L
Kimberly A. Goodman, OTR/L
Kim Wells Sands, OTR/L
A. Cassaundra Brown, Consumer Member
Marylin Pierre, Esquire, Consume Member

Administration - O.T. Board:  Donna Ashman, Executive Director
Counsel to O.T. Board:  Anthony DeFranco, Office of the Attorney General


[ Home ] Meeting Schedule ] Board Member SOP ] Board History ]