Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

BOPC : faqs

Board of Professional Counselors

 Frequently Asked Questions

How do I become licensed or certified in Maryland?

Is my license or certification subject to renewal?

How do I notify the Board of an address change and/or name change?

What License can I get from the Board?

How about the Graduate License?

I am not sure if the courses on my transcript match those in the regulations. What should I do?

Your regulations state I must have a minimum of 60 graduate credits for a license. I have 48 credits in my master's program. What should I do?

How long do I need to keep my client/patient records?

The person who supervised me during my internship is no longer employed by the agency; therefore, I am not able to get her/him to complete the supervision form. What should I do?

May I still become certified or remain certified as a professional counselor or marriage and family therapist?

How do I become licensed or certified in Maryland?

Complete an application with supporting documentation to take the national exam and the Maryland Law Exam. Click here for application materials.

Is my license or certification subject to renewal?

Yes, all licenses and certificates are renewed every two years. See COMAR 10.58.05.

How do I notify the Board of an address change and/or name change?

All address and name changes must be IN WRITING and include name, license number, and the old address and new address. When requesting a name change the counselor or therapist must submit a copy of a legal document showing the name change. Mail your information to:

 

Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists

4201 Patterson Avenue

Baltimore, MD 21215

What License can I get from the Board?

Clinical Professional Counselor; Clinical Marriage and Family Therapy and Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor.

How about the Graduate License?

Yes, the Graduate License was established in the 2002 Legislative Session. To qualify for the Graduate License you must meet the education requirements and pass the national exam and law test. You may work as a Graduate Counselor or Therapist for 2 years while earning the required supervision.

I am not sure if the courses on my transcript match those in the regulations. What should I do?

You may request a Pre-application Credentials Evaluation of your courses. The Fee for this service is $25.00. The Board will review your transcript(s) and provide guidance on meeting the education requirements.

Your regulations state I must have a minimum of 60 graduate credits for a license. I have 48 credits in my master's program. What should I do?

You must take 12 additional credits. The Board does not have the statutory authority to waive the 60 graduate credit requirement

How long do I need to keep my client/patient records?

Destruction of medical records in regulated by COMAR Health General 4-403 and it reads: "Except for minor patient...5 years after the record or report is made." In the case of a minor patient, counselors and therapists in private practice should obtain a copy of this regulation and review it with an attorney if there are questions. For counselors and therapists in agency settings, it is recommended to follow the guidelines the agency has established based on this regulation. You can obtain copies of statutes of regulations over the internet at www.dsd.state.md.us.

Destruction of medical records in regulated by COMAR Health General 4-403 and it reads: "Except for minor patient...5 years after the record or report is made." In the case of a minor patient, counselors and therapists in private practice should obtain a copy of this regulation and review it with an attorney if there are questions. For counselors and therapists in agency settings, it is recommended to follow the guidelines the agency has established based on this regulation. You can obtain copies of statutes of regulations over the internet at www.dsd.state.md.us..

The person who supervised me during my internship is no longer employed by the agency; therefore, I am not able to get her/him to complete the supervision form. What should I do?

Ask the university instructor responsible for the internship to verify your work or have the agency and any present supervisors/managers verify the supervision. Or, perhaps locate the supervisor through a change of address from the agency.

May I still become certified or remain certified as a professional counselor or marriage and family therapist?

Yes. If you are currently certified and choose not to apply for licensure that is acceptable. However, the law prohibits new certifications for professional counselors and marriage and family therapists after September 30, 2008. Additionally after September 30, 2008, the Board may not reinstate the certificate of a CPC or CPC-MFT who has failed to renew the certification for any reason. Also, after September 30, 2008, the Board may not place a CPC or CPC-MFT on inactive status.