
MARYLAND BOARD OF MORTICIANS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS 
OPEN SESSION MINUTES 

SEPTEMBER 9, 2015 
 

The meeting was called to order at 11:55 am with a quorum by Victor C. March, Sr., 
President. 
  
BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT                                   ABSENT BOARD MEMBERS               
Victor C. March, President                                                Lynn Shuppel                           
D. Lynn Newman, 1st Vice President 
James Govoni, 2nd Vice President 
Vernon Strayhorn, Sr., Secretary 
Gladys Sewell 
Camille Bryan 
Wayne Cooper 
Robert Bradshaw, Jr. 
Mark Bailey 
Dr. Ahmed Elzaree 
 
  
STAFF 
Ruth Ann Arty, Executive Director 
Darlene Cline, Licensing Chief 
Thomas Anderson, Health Occupations Inspector 
Anthony DeFranco, Board Counsel 
 
Mr. March moved for approval of July’s minutes.  A motion was made and seconded. 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT 
 
Ms. Arty reported we have two people that should be recognized at this Board meeting.  
Senator Paula Hollinger will no longer be with the department as of October 1, 2015.  
The second person recognized is C. Virgil Moore of Moore Funeral Home in Denton, 
Maryland.  Mr. Moore celebrated his 100th birthday on August 21, 2015.  He is the oldest 
living mortician in the state.  He has been licensed since May 1, 1937, continually in 
good standing. 
 
Ms. Arty wanted to make an early reminder that the $375.00 fee for the Family Security 
Trust Fund is coming up.  The fee must be received for each establishment by November 
30, 2015.  Every year establishments are upset about the late fee, which is $500.00, and 



ask why the late fee is more than the actual fee.  The Family Security Trust Fund 
Advisory Committee felt they needed to make an important statement.  The fund amount 
is close to a million dollars and, hopefully, 2016 will be the last year establishments will 
have to pay into it.   
 
It has been a difficult fiscal year for the State, and the budget is very tight, which leaves 
the Board with two choices, one we raise fees, which the Board says no. Therefore, Ms. 
Arty recommended the staff return to four, which means by the direction of the Board, 
she will be in the field more often when we are in need of particular inspections.   
 
The meeting that was announced last month for stakeholders and review of the necessary 
regulations has been scheduled.  The schedule was received for how the regulations will 
be reviewed down at the legislature.  The Board has reviewed all the regulations.  We 
will not be submitting the changes all at once, but rather in very small groups.  The first 
AD-HOCK committee, of one licensee from each of the associations and SCI will be 
held on September 23, 2015 at 3:30 pm.  Everyone should email Ms. Arty the 
representative who will be attending the meeting.  At that meeting, we will go over the 
proposed changes that the Board’s regulation committee has recommended. After getting 
feedback from the stakeholders, the finalized set of the reviewed regulations will be sent 
to Board Counsel for final approval, and then sent to AELR.  The first three chapters will 
be inspection/investigation, complaint and pre-need. 
 
In Regulatory Support’s newsletter, it states Ms. Arty will be at the University of 
Maryland every other month for CEU training, which is incorrect.  Ms. Arty will 
continue to do the Mortuary Transport regulations and Human Dignity at least every 
other month. 
 
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT 
 
No Report. 
 
FAMILY SECURITY TRUST FUND ADVISORY COMMITTEE 
 
Gladys Sewell, Chair reported there is currently $841,083.07 in the fund. 
 
PRE-NEED COMMITTEE 
 
D. Lynn Newman, Chair reported Mr. Anderson audited several pre-needs in the last 
several months and for the most part everyone is in compliance with their pre-needs. 
There are a small number that need to be corrected and letters are being sent out.  Some 



of the items that need correction are “date of birth missing” and by state law the date of 
birth has to be on all pre-need contracts.  Social Security numbers are occasionally 
omitted from the contract as well.  Otherwise, licensees are paying attention to state law. 
 
FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT / INSPECTION COMMITTEE REPORT 
 
Mr. Robert Bradshaw, Chair allowed Jim Govoni to report on the following 
establishments. 
 
Mortuary Transport Service 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of the Short Funeral Home of Delaware for Mortuary 
Transport Service.  A motion was made and approved.   
 
LICENSURE COMMITTEE REPORT 
 
Jim Govoni, Chair reported on the following applicants. 
 
Apprentice License 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Cullen Donaldson for apprenticeship.  A motion was 
made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Stephanie Rinehart for apprenticeship.  A motion was 
made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Erica Johnson for apprenticeship pending ownership 
letter.  A motion was made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Delores Jones for apprenticeship.  A motion was 
made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Heather Richardson for apprenticeship.  A motion 
was made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Brittney Greene for apprenticeship.  A motion was 
made and approved. 
 
Mortician via Reciprocity 



Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Electa Wright of Air Force Mortuary Affairs for a 
temporary mortician license.  A motion was made and approved pending completion of 
required paperwork. 
 
Mortician via Waiver 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Valerie Grant for mortician via waiver of 
apprenticeship requirements.  A motion was made and approved pending CEU’s. 
 
Reinstatement 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Daphne Waters for reinstatement of her mortician’s 
license.  A motion was made and approved. 
 
Courtesy Card 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Michelle Durst for a courtesy card.  A motion was 
made and approved. 
 
Mortuary Transporters 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Amy Jewel for mortuary transporter.  A motion was 
made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Thomas Jewel for mortuary transporter.  A motion 
was made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Clark Layfield for mortuary transporter.  A motion 
was made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Aixa Boyd for mortuary transporter.  A motion was 
made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Nicole DiManno for mortuary transporter.  A motion 
was made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Stacy Guthrie for mortuary transporter.  A motion 
was made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Jessica Chmielewski for mortuary transporter.  A 
motion was made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Sean Hatfield for mortuary transporter.  A motion was 
made and approved. 



 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Gregory Weygandt for mortuary transporter.  A 
motion was made and approved. 
 
Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Eduardo Aguirre for mortuary transporter. A motion 
was made and approved. 
 
Donald Newman recused himself from the vote. Mr. Govoni moved for approval of Fred 
A. Meyer for mortuary transporter. A motion was made and approved.  
 
Donald Newman recused himself from the vote.  Mr. Govoni moved for approval of 
Donald Lynn Newman for mortuary transporter.  A motion was made and approved. 
 
CEU COMMITTEE REPORT 
 
Dr. Elzaree, Chair, reported on the following CEU’s.  
 
New CEU’s 
Montgomery Hospice is requesting 6 CEU’s for their 2015 Conference – Different 
Voices, Shared Journeys, Providing Culture Sensitive Care, September 24, 2015.  A 
motion was made and approved for 4.5 CEU’s. 
 
The International Order of the Golden Rule is requesting 6 CEU’s for their 2015 Fall 
Forum: Dominate Technology, October 17, 2015.  A motion was made and approved. 
 
The Maryland Funeral Directors Association is requesting approval of their Board and 
Quarterly meetings. A motion was made and approved for a maximum of 3 CEU’s for a 
renewal cycle. 
 
Aurora Casket Company is requesting 2 CEU’s for The Aurora Casket Plant Tour on 
October 21, 2015.  A motion was made and approved. 
 
NFDA is requesting 6 CEU’s for their NFDA Certified Crematory Operator Program, 
November 3 and 4, 2015. A motion was made and approved. 
 
New Jersey Funeral Directors Association is requesting 10 CEU’s for their 2015 
Convention and Expo 9/29 – 10/1/2015. 
 
 
 



OLD BUSINESS 
Ms. Arty reported we have made a lot of progress on the Mortuary Transport Service 
Permits.  Most of Mortuary Transport Services and Registered Transporters that have 
been voted by the Board have been added to the data system.  The only permits that have 
not been sent are the transport companies that do not have the bondable letters.  We have 
had tremendous trouble with the bondable letters.  When the regulations were submitted 
by the Board, it was asked that companies be bonded, there was discussion with 
Maryland State and Attorney Jim Doyle and it was decided getting a bond would be too 
expensive on top of the permit fee, and there was a request made that they only have to 
submit a letter that states they are bondable.  The Board agreed to that, however 
insurance companies don’t understand the request for the letter.  The Board is not 
requiring a bond, however if you are a transport company who’s insurance company will 
not issue a letter becoming bonded is an alternative.  The Board set up courtesy sights 
around the state for vehicle inspections and there has been requests for additional 
inspections.  Ms. Arty and Mr. Anderson will set up inspections again in the different 
areas of the state.  In the meantime, if a vehicle needs to be inspected, please e-mail Mr. 
Anderson at thomas.anderson@maryland.gov to schedule a date to be inspected in our 
parking lot.  All ID’s for registered transporters will be issued by the end of the year.  
The Board is not requiring licensed Maryland funeral establishments to have a permit for 
removal. We do however, require removals be done in an inspected vehicle, by a licensed 
establishment and employees of the funeral home. 
 
The Governor will be signing a new statute on October 1, 2015 that will allow the Board 
to sanction anyone that is practicing without a license in the State of Maryland.  The 
sanction comes with a $5000.00 fine per occurrence. 
 
The State required that each of the Boards submit sanction guidelines. That requirement 
was given to the Boards two years ago.  The Board did submit the sanction guidelines. At 
the advice of our Board Counsel, they were attached to other regulations that were 
submitted. They were rejected when cremation regulations came out, and sent back to the 
Board since they were submitted in the wrong manner.  Since the sanction guidelines 
came back to the Board, we have had new statutes that were not covered by the 
cremation sanction, mortuary transport sanction, and the Human Dignity Act sanction, 
and they require a large amount of work by the Board to update them to the current state 
of affairs.  The purpose of the guideline is so that licensees know what is expected, and 
the minimum and maximum discipline there would be if there was a violation of the law.  
The Board reviewed each violation and the minimum and maximum sanction and 
penalty.  The sanctioning guidelines are as follows: 
 

mailto:thomas.anderson@maryland.gov


-Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a license, permit, or 
registration for the applicant or licensee, permit holder, or registration holder or for 
another.  The minimum sanction is a reprimand, maximum sanction is revocation or 
denial of the license.  The minimum penalty is 0, the maximum is $5000.00. 
- Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license, permit, or registration.  The minimum 
sanction active suspension for 1 year and maximum is revocation.  The minimum penalty 
is $0, the maximum is $5000.00. 
- Commits fraud or misrepresentation: (a) In the practice of mortuary science; or (b) 
while removing or transporting human remains. The minimum sanction is active 
suspension for 1 year and maximum is revocation.  The minimum penalty is $0, the 
maximum is $5000.00. 
- Is convicted of or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to a felony or to a crime involving 
moral turpitude.  The minimum sanction is probation for 1 year, maximum is 
revocation/denial of license.  The minimum penalty is $0, maximum is $5000.00. 
-Aids or abets an unauthorized person in the practice of mortuary science specifically: (a) 
in embalming without a license; In making arrangements; (c) In the cremation of human 
remains; or (d) In the transporting or removal of human remains.  The minimum sanction 
is active suspension for 90 days, maximum sanction, revocation.  The minimum penalty 
is $0, maximum $5000.00. 
- Advertised falsely or in a misleading manner.  The minimum sanction is reprimand, 
maximum sanction is active suspension for 60 days.  The minimum penalty is $0 and 
maximum penalty is $500.00. 
-Solicits mortuary science business: (a) Either personally or by an agent, from a dying 
individual; or (b) To remove or transport human remains.  The minimum sanction is 
active suspension for 30 days, maximum sanction is active suspension for 1 year.  
Minimum penalty is $0 and maximum penalty is $1500.00 
- Directly or indirectly pays or offers to pay to obtain: (a) Mortuary science business; or 
(b) Business to remove or transport human remains.  The minimum sanction is active 
suspension for 30 days, maximum sanction is active suspension for 1 year.  Minimum 
penalty is $0 and maximum penalty is $1500.00. 
- Refuses to surrender custody of a human remains of the demand of a person who is 
entitled to its custody.  The minimum sanctions is a reprimand, and the maximum 
sanction is revocation.  The minimum penalty is $2500.00 and the maximum penalty is 
$5000.00.   
-Sells or offers to sell any share, certificate or interest, with a promise to offer to perform 
services to the buyer at a cost less than that offered to the general public, in: (a) A 
mortuary science business; or (b) A mortuary transport service.  The minimum sanction 
is reprimand and the maximum sanction is revocation.  The minimum penalty is $0 and 
the maximum is $2500.00. 



- Fails, after proper demand, to refund promptly and payments received under a pre-need 
contract with interest.  The minimum sanction is active suspension for 30 days and the 
maximum sanction is revocation.  The minimum penalty is $1000.00 and the maximum 
is $5000.00. 
- At the time funeral arrangements are made, fails to give the contract required by Health 
Occupations Article, §7-404, Annotated Code of Maryland.  The minimum sanction is 
reprimand and the maximum sanction is active suspension for 1 year.  The minimum 
penalty is $0 and the maximum penalty is $250.00 
- Violates and State, municipal, or county law, rule or regulation on the handling, 
custody, care or transportation of human remains or the disposal of instruments, materials 
and wastes relevant to preparation of human remains for final disposition.  The minimum 
sanction is reprimand and the maximum sanction is active suspension for 1 year.  The 
minimum penalty is $0, the maximum penalty is $5000.00. 
- Does one of the following: (a) Practices mortuary science under a name other than the 
name that appears on the license of that person; or the name of a partnership in 
accordance with Health Occupations Article, § 7-401 Annotated Code of Maryland (b) 
Removes and transports human remains under a name other than the name that appears 
on the permit or registration of that person.  The minimum sanction is reprimand, the 
maximum is probation.  The minimum penalty is $0 and maximum penalty is $500.00 
- Violates any provision of this title, of the laws relating to cremation, or any other law 
relating to removing and transporting of human remains. The minimum sanction is 
reprimand and the maximum sanction is revocation.  The minimum penalty is $0 and the 
maximum penalty is $5000.00 
- Is disciplined by a licensing or disciplinary authority of any other state or country for an 
act that would be grounds for disciplinary actions under the Board’s disciplinary statutes.  
The minimum sanction is reprimand and the maximum sanction is revocation.  The 
minimum penalty is $0 and the maximum penalty is $5000.00. 
-Willfully makes or files a false report or record: (a) In the practice of mortuary science; 
or (b) For a mortuary transport service.  The minimum sanction would be reprimand and 
the maximum sanction revocation.  The minimum penalty is $0 and the maximum 
penalty is $5000.00. 
-Willfully fails to file or record any report as required by law, willfully impedes or 
obstructs the filing or recording of the report, or induces another to fail to file or record 
the report.  The minimum sanction is reprimand and the maximum sanction is revocation.  
The minimum penalty is $0 and the maximum penalty $5000.00. 
-Submits a false statement to collect a fee.  The minimum sanction is reprimand and 
maximum sanction is revocation.  The minimum penalty is $0 and the maximum penalty 
is $5000.00. 
- Provides professional services while under the influence of alcohol or using any 
narcotic or controlled dangerous substance, or other drug that is excess of therapeutic 



amounts or without valid medical indication.  The minimum sanction is probation and the 
maximum is sanction is revocation.  The minimum penalty is $250.00 and the maximum 
penalty is $5000.00. 
- Violates any rule, or regulation adopted by the Board.  The minimum sanction is 
reprimand and maximum sanction.  The minimum penalty is $0 and the maximum 
penalty is $5000.00. 
-Is professionally, physically, or mentally incompetent.  The minimum sanction is 
suspension for 30 days.  The maximum sanction is revocation.  The minimum penalty is 
$0 and the maximum penalty is $5000.00. 
- Commits an act of unprofessional conduct: (a) In the practice of mortuary science; or 
(b) while removing and transporting human remains.  The minimum sanction is probation 
and the maximum sanction is revocation.  The minimum penalty is $0 and the maximum 
penalty is $5000.00. 
- Refuses, withholds from, denies, or discrimination against an individual with regard to 
the provision of professional services for which the person is licensed, permitted, or 
registered and qualified to render because the individual is HIV positive.  The minimum 
sanction is probation and the maximum sanction is active suspension for 30 days.  The 
minimum penalty is $0 and the maximum penalty is $5000.00. 
- Except in an emergency life-threating situation where is its not feasible or practicable, 
fails to comply with CDC guidelines on universal precautions.  The minimum sanction is 
reprimand, the maximum sanction is active suspension for 30 days.  The minimum 
penalty is $0 and the maximum penalty is $5000.00. 
- Fails to allow an inspection under Health Occupations Article §7-205, Annotated Code 
of Maryland.  The minimum sanction is probation and the maximum sanction is active 
suspension for 30 days.  The minimum penalty is $0 and the maximum penalty is 
$5000.00. 
- Fails to comply with inspection requirements in the time specified by the Board.  The 
minimum sanction is reprimand and the maximum sanction is probation.  The minimum 
penalty is $0, and the maximum penalty is $500.00. 
-Fails to comply with laws or regulations relating to § 5-513 of the Human General 
Article.  The minimum sanction is probation and the maximum sanction is active 
suspension for 30 days.  The minimum penalty is $1000.00, and the maximum penalty is 
$5000.00. 
- Removes human remains from a death scene, mortuary transport services, funeral 
establishment, or crematory, without the authorization of the entity in custody of the 
human remains.  The minimum sanction is reprimand and the maximum sanction is 
revocation.  The minimum penalty is $250.00 and the maximum penalty is $5000.00. 
 
A vote was made to accept the sanction guidelines they have been presented with the 
necessary changes.  A motion was made and accepted. 



 
Our committee meetings are scheduled on the same day as our Board meetings allowing 
our Board members who travel a long distance to meet all in the same day.  We are 
proposing that the open board meeting begin at 1:00 pm instead of 11:30 am, allowing 
the committees to begin meeting at 7:30 am on Board day and completing meetings 
before we go into open session.  A motion was made and passed to move the time of 
open meeting to 1:00 pm.  November’s meeting will be held on November 10, 2015 due 
to Veteran’s Day falling on November 11, 2015 which is a State Holiday. 
 
AJOURNMENT 
 
Pursuant to Maryland State Government Article, Annotated Code § 10-501 et. Seq., on a 
motion by Victor C. March, Sr., President, and Seconded. The Board unanimously voted 
to close its meeting. 
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