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RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR MORTICIANS
Return by April 15, 2016

This will insure that the Board will be able to process your license before the expiration
date of April 30, 2016. A late fee of $400.00 will be assessed if the Board does not receive
your application on or before May 15th. If you choose to renew between May 1, 2016 and
May 15, 2016, you will be considered unlicensed and unable to practice mortuary science.

This serves as your renewal notice for the May 1, 2016 through April 30, 2018 licensure period.
NOTE: THIS RENEWAL CYCLE IS FOR LICENSEES (A - K) WHO RENEWED FOR TWO
YEARS IN APRIL OF 2014 OR FOR NEW LICENSEES WHO EXPIRE ON APRIL 30, 2016.
YOUR NEW LICENSE WILL BE RENEWED FOR TWO YEARS EXPIRING IN APRIL OF 2018.

You may choose to renew your license online at www.dhmh.maryland.gov/bom. It is the third
choice under “Quick Links” on the left side of the homepage. Your password is the last four
digits of your social security number. Just a reminder: Your mortician’s number has one
letter and five numbers. It does not contain the letter “O”.

If you choose to renew by paper, please download the renewal form on the Board’s
website under “BOARD NEWS”. Click on Mortician Renewal Application. IT has posted the
PDF form, so you can type your information into the document. NOTE: HAND DELIVERED
APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED AT THE BOARD OFFICE.

As you are aware, licensees must complete twelve (12) continuing education units (CEUS)
between May 1, 2014 and April 30, 2016 in order to renew a license. One of those credits must
be in Maryland pre-need law. Maryland accepts up to six online credits and the balance must be
in a classroom. Licensees may carry over up to 3 CEUSs, to the next renewal cycle. You must list
your carry over, if any. If you have been a practicing mortician for forty years or more, you may
request a waiver of the CEU credits from the Board. Please note that in each two year cycle, the
Board may not waive the legislatively mandated pre-need law CEU.

In accordance with COMAR 10.29.05.05 F, if you were newly licensed between May 1, 2014 and
April 30, 2016, the Board will automatically waive continuing education requirements for first time
renewal.

If you are an Active Mortician and wish to place your license on Inactive Status, you may obtain
an Inactive Status application on the Board’s website, and submit it with the $300 inactive status
fee.

Please enter your name and address and mortician number on the downloaded application. If
there are additions, corrections or changes, please mark the appropriate space provided. Please
note that your practice address cannot be a post office box. Only your mailing address can be
a post office box.



The character questions on the second page of the application are questions which must be
answered in order for your license to be renewed.

If your license is not renewed by April 30, 2016, you will be deemed to be unlicensed and, as
such, you may be subject to Board action.

The Board does have the authority to charge a late fee if license renewals are not “received” on
or before May 15, 2016. Those who do not renew on or before May 15, 2016 will be assessed a
late fee of $400.00, as noted in COMAR Fee Schedule 10.29.04.02 (P).

The Office of the Comptroller will review all licensees to determine if the renewal applicant has
paid all monies due to the State. All licensees on the list have been sent a notification letter from
the Board. All issues must be resolved before a license can be issued. Please call the Office of
the Comptroller at 410-974-2432, if you have comptroller issues needing resolution. Please note
that licenses cannot be renewed if the Board receives notification of unpaid child support.

The Board is procuring stickers with your new expiration date printed on them. They
should be placed on your current licenses covering the old expiration date.

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to call Ms. Darlene Cline at 410-764-4792, Licensing
Chief, at the Board Office. Thank you.

Please include your email address on the renewal form, so the Board will
be able to notify you electronically in the future**
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