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MARYLAND BOARD OF MORTICIANS and FUNERAL DIRECTORS
4201 Patterson Avenue ® Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299

RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR FUNERAL DIRECTORS

Postmarked no later than November 30, 2014
**¥ou must include two passport size photos™
A late fee of $400.00 will be assessed after December 15, 2014

Remember — You may not practice without a license. Practicing after failure to renew may result in
disciplinary action.

Enclosed is your renewal notice for the December 1, 2014 through November 30, 2016 licensure period.
Applications received by November 14, 2014 will be issued their laminated license by December 1, 2014.

As you are aware, licensees must complete 12 continuing education units (CEUs) in order to renew a
license. Licensees may carry over up to 3 CEUs, to the next renewal cycle. Licensees are required to earn
a minimum of 1 CEU credit in an approved course on Maryland preneed law per renewal cycle. Please
attach a copy of all of your completed continuing education certificates with this application.

Congratulations to those of you who have served in the State for 40 years and were licensed prior to
November 30, 1974. If you wish to request a waiver of continuing education units based upon your 40 years
of service, please check the appropriate box on the renewal form and submit a request in writing to the
Board for the waiver. In accordance with COMAR 10.29.05.06, this will be a one time only submission and
you will not have to submit a request for waiver during any future renewal periods. However, you will still be
required to take the 1 CEU credit in an approved course in Maryland preneed law each renewal cycle.

In accordance with COMAR 10.29.05.05 F, if you were newly licensed between December 1, 2012 -
November 30, 2014, the Board will automatically waive continuing education requirements for first time
renewal.

If you are an Active Funeral Director and wish to place your license on Inactive status, you may obtain an
Inactive Status application on the Board’s website, and submit it with the $300 fee.

On the second page of the application are questions which must be answered in order for your license to be
renewed.

The Board does have the authority to charge a late fee if license renewals are not received by December 15,
2014. Those who do not renew before December 15, 2014 will be assessed a late fee of $400.00, as noted
in COMAR Fee Schedule 10.29.04.02 (P).

The Office of the Comptroller will review all licensees to determine if the renewal applicant has paid all
undisputed taxes and unemployment insurance contributions. All tax and unemployment insurance
contribution issues must be resolved hefore the Board can issue a license. Please call the Office of the
Comptroller at 410-974-2432, if you have tax issues needing resolution.

If you have any gquestions, don't hesitate to call the Board Office at 410-764-4792. Thank you.

410-764-4792 o Fax 410-358-6571
DHMH 1-877-463-3464 e Maryland Relay Service 1-800-735-2258
Web Site: dhmh.maryland.gov/bom



MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF MORTICIANS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS
APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF A FUNERAL DIRECTOR LICENSE

PLEASE MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO THE BOARD OF MORTICIANS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS
FAILURE TO RENEW LICENSE BY 12/15/2014 SHALL RESULT iN FENALTY FEE OF $400.

CONTINUING EDUCATION: YOU ARE REQUIRED BY LAW TO PARTICIPATE IN APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION
PROGRAMS BEFORE YOUR RENEWAL LICENSE CAN BE ISSUED. HOURS REQUIRED: 12 (1 CEU must be in Md preneed law)
POSTMARKED NO LATER THAN NOVEMBER 30, 2014 NO HAND DELIVERY ACCEPTED

ORIGINAL LICENSE: RENEWAL FEE $600 EXP. DATE 11/30/2014
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SECTION | - GENERAL INFORMATION - This secticn must be completed in full.
If your name or address has changed since the last renewal, please indicate by noting new address and enclose
proof of name change such as a court document or marriage certificate.

A. Social Security Number: D D D - D D - D D D D

{There is a statutory requirement that you disclose your social security number. It wili be used for identification
purposes only.)

B. Home Address:
Home Phone Number: D D D = D D D" D D D D
C. Work Address:
Work Phone Number: D D D = D D D = D E] D D
E-mall address: Cell Phone Number:
D Mailing Address: Which address do you wish to receive mail from the Board? (renewal licenses, notices, slc.)
(Please check cne) Work: O Home: 0O
E. MD County of Residence; F. MD County of Practice:
Ef1. Are you of Hispanic or Latino arigin? Yes O No O
G. Race (Please circle all applicable; for statistical purposes only):  1-White  2-Black or African American
3-American Indian or Alaska Native  4-Native Hawalian or Pacific Islander 5-Asian 6-Other
H. Present Employment Status: D I Employment type (Primary — one only) ]:I
1-Full Time  3-Retired 1-Owner 3-Trade
2-Part Time 4-Other 2-Staff 4-Other
J. Maryland practice:

Since your last renewal, have you practiced in the State of Maryland? 0O Yes[ No

K. Licensure in other states:
List other states or jurisdiction in which you hold a Funeral Director's license. Include license number(s).

State License Number




SECTION Il — CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS | have [ have not [0  completed the 12 CEU's
mandated during the renewal cycle, one of which is in prensed. For verification purposes, please submit copies of certificates of
all CEU courses completed, with dates attended and the amount of credits approved, between December 1, 2012 and
November 30, 2014, on a separate piece of paper.

Please check the following box if applicable.

O | have worked as a Funeral Director in the State of Maryland for 40 years. 1 am requesting a waiver of CEU credits except
for the one in Maryland preneed law.

SECTION Ill - CHARACTER - This secticn must be completed.

YES NO

O O 1) Has the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice in your
professiocn?

O O 2a) Has any licensing or disciplinary board in any jurisdiction, or an entity of the Armed services, denied
your application for licensure, reinstatement or renewal; taken any actior: against your license,
including but not limited to, reprimand, suspension, revocation, fine or non-judicial punishment?

O O 2b) Have you surrendered or allowed your iicense to lapse while under investigation by a licensing or
disciplinary board in any jurisdiction or an entity of the Armed Services?

O O 3) Have any complaints, investigations, or charges been brought against you or are currently pending,
in any jurisdiction, by any ficensing or disciplinary board or entity of the Armed Services?

O (| 4) Have you had a physical or mental illness that may presently affect or impair your ability to practice
your profession?

O | 5) Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, been convicted, received probation before judgment or other
diversionary disposition of any criminal act or for driving while intoxicated, or for a controlled
dangerous substance offense {excluding miner traffic violations)?

O O 6) Has your employment by any health care employer been affected by disciplinary actions, including
probation, suspension, loss of privileges, transfer to other duties, or termination of employment or
contract?

O O I8 Have you been diagnosed with a physical or mental condition which may affect your ability to
practice your profession?

O O 8) Has any malpractice or claim for damages been filed against you which is pending, has been

dismissed, has been settled, or damages have been awarded against you?

Attach a detailed explanation for each question answered "yes” in Section Ill - Character

Nofice For Mailing List
The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board’s functions under Md. Health
Occupations Code Annotated, Title 7. Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application. You have a
right to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information. The Board may permit inspection of this information or make
it available to others only as permitted by Federal and State law. Under the Maryland Public Information Act, Md. State Gov't
Code Ann. §10-617, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees’ names and addresses to professional associations and
other entities. You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists.

Applicant Signature
Practice of mortuary science or funeral direction without an active license is a violation of the Morticians Act. | affirm that the
contents of this document are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. Failure to provide truthful answers may
result in disciplinary action.

Applicant Signature Date
Don’t Forget Your Two Passport Photos
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