Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

AHS : Home


Board of Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers


& Speech-Language Pathologists

Board of Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers & Speech-Language Pathologists



Welcome to the Maryland State Board of Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers and Speech-Language Pathologists web site.   The sections listed on the menu provide information on items of interest to consumers, applicants and licensees.   After you have reviewed these sections, if you have not found the answers you need, please contact the Board by phone, fax or e-mail.

Meetings of the Board are held at 4:00 p.m. on the third Thursday of the month at DHMH on Patterson Avenue. Please note that the Board does not meet in the months of August or December.  All interested parties are welcome to attend the meeting. Please contact the Board office for meeting room and directions.

Board's Mission


The mission of the Board is to enhance the quality of the hearing and speech health care provided to the citizens of Maryland by ensuring qualified and  competent audiologists, hearing aid dispensers and speech-language pathologists are licensed to practice in the State of Maryland.

Important Information


SLP Renewal for Licenses Expiring on May 31, 2015

Renewal notices for speech-language pathologists who hold a license that expires on May 31, 2015 will be mailed were placed in the mail on Monday, March 23, 2015.  The online renewal system will be open later that week.  Thank you for your patience so that the Board ensures a smooth renewal process for all eligible renewal candidates.
Continuing education audit notices were ailed in January 2015.  Do not send any continuing education documentation to the Board unless directed to do so via notice of the audit.
For individuals that have already renewed their license at least once the continuing education requirement is 15.0 hours to be completed between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2014.
For individuals who were issued their initial full license between December 1, 2013 and November 30, 2014 the prorated continuing education requirements apply.  Notices regarding the prorated continuing education requirement were issued to all individuals issued their first full license during that time.  Prorated continuing education requirements can be viewed here.
Licensees may contact the Board at 410-764-4723 for additional information.

Hearing Aid Sales and Third-Party Providers

For important information to all licensees regarding third party sellers of hearing aids please click here.

Board Membership Vacancies

Board member vacancies occur from time to time.

Members of the audiology, hearing aid dispensing and speech-language pathology professions may contact the Executive Director to learn more about the responsibilities and time commitment to serve the citizens of the State of Maryland.  Contact the Executive Director at 410-764-4723 for more information.

Requesting Verification Letters
For more information regarding requesting a verification letter to be sent to another licensing board or employer please click here.


Board Meeting Dates
The Board meets on the third Thursday of each month except August and December.  Ocassionally, Board meetings are cancelled - please call the Board at 410-764-4725 to ensure that the meeting is being held.  Whenever possible notice of a cancellation of a Board meeting will be posted to this homepage.
Upcoming Board meeting dates are:
April 16, 2015
May 21, 2015
June 18, 2015
The March 19, 2015 Board meeting is being held at the Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Building located at 5900 Metro Drive, Baltimore, MD 21215.  Please use your navigation tools and/or devices for directions to 5900 Metro Drive.
Board Staff
Christopher J. Kelter, Executive Director
Anthony DeFranco, AAG, Board Counsel
Zoann C. Mouzone, Administrative Specialist
Yolanda B. Campbell, Office Secretary 


Office of the Governor

Contact Us

Board of AUD/HAD/SLP
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
4201 Patterson Avenue
Baltimore, Maryland  21215
Phone:  410-764-4725
Fax:  410-358-0273




Board Members

  • Ronald Kaplan, Au.D. (AUD), Chair
  • Cassandra Peters-Johnson, Ph.D., CCC-SLP (SLP), Co-Chair
  • C. Kirk Payne (HAD), Co-Chair
  • John Sloan, M.Ed. CCC-SLP (SLP), Treasurer
  • Lisa Melody, SLP (SLP)
  • Lisa M. Nelson, Au.D (AUD)
  • Charlotte Godfrey, Au.D (AUD)
  • Billie Jo O'Donovan (HAD)
  • George Sheckells (HAD)
  • Scott D. London, M.D.
  • Victor Da Costa, M.D.
  • John Rouse, Consumer
  • Vacant, Consumer, Consumer