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Speech-Language Pathologist – Limited License 
Application Checklist 

 
I. All Applicants Must Submit: 
 

____ $100.00 Fee (make check or money order payable: Board of SLP) 

____ A recent 2x2 passport size photo 

____ Signed and Notarized Application 

____ Completed Law and Regulation Examination 

____ Proof of Fingerprinting for Criminal History Records Check 
 
Note: The Law and Regulation Examination is an open book examination.  An applicant must 
score at least 75 percent on the Examination.  Applicants can download the examination from the 
Board’s web site at www.mdboardaudhadslp.org. Use the Forms Link to download a copy of the 
law examination.  To complete the examination, refer to the law and regulation reference number 
included with the questions. Use the “Regulation” tab on the Board’s web site to access the laws 
and regulations to answer the questions.  A license will not be issued unless the Law and 
Regulation Examination has been successfully passed. 
 
Note: Criminal History Records Check 
 

Effective October 1, 2016 an applicant for initial licensure must submit evidence to the 
Board of an application for a criminal history records check (CHRC). 
 
Information and forms regarding the required CHRC is on the Board’s Forms page (click 
on Forms in the Quick Links section). 
 
An application for licensure will not be processed until the application is complete, 
including submitting evidence of a criminal history records fingerprint receipt. 
 
All applicants should download, fill out, and print the Board’s pre-filled LiveScan Pre-
Registration Form.  The form has relevant Board-specific information already on the 
form.  This form must be presented to the fingerprinting service. 
 
Application form found on the CHRC resources page on the Board’s website. 
 
In-state applicants and out-of-state applicants near Maryland may go to an authorized 
fingerprinting location in Maryland.  The CHRC resources page on the Board’s website 
provides a link to the Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services’ list of 
authorized fingerprinting locations.   
 
Out-of-state applicants must contact the Board’s administrative assistant at 410-764-4725 
to request an official out-of-state fingerprint card to be mailed directly to the applicant 
before submission of an application for licensure to this Board. 
 
Please note that the CHRC requirement is in addition to answering the disciplinary 
questions in the application. 
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II. All Applicants Must Submit the Following Documents: 

 
____Official Master’s Transcript (must show degree conferred date or a letter from 
Department Chair stating that applicant has completed all coursework and clinical 
practicum if transcript does not show degree awarded). Applicant must request 
educational institution to send the transcript directly to the Board – due to the Board no 
later than 60 days after limited license has been issued.  Undergraduate transcripts do not 
need to be submitted to the Board. 
 
____ Clinical Fellowship Year Plan (Form AS2) 
 
Note: A supervisor must be a licensed speech-language pathologist in the State of 
Maryland or if the supervisor is exempt from the licensure requirements the 
supervisor must hold the ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competency. 
 
Note: A Form AS2, Verification of Supervision for Limited Licensure/Clinical 
Fellowship Year, must be submitted for each supervisor during the period of limited 
licensure. 
 
Note: Applicants for a limited license who have completed some of the required nine 
months of supervised practice in another state must submit a Form AS2 and a Form 
AS3 completed by their supervisor in the other state to obtain credit for supervised 
practice in that state. 

 
 
Application Processing 
 
Applications are processed continuously except as noted below.  Applications are processed only 
when complete.  Complete applications include proof of fingerprinting for the required criminal 
history records check. 
 
Some applications require Board-approval.  These applications are processed after the Board had 
voted and made a decision at a Board meeting. 
 
Application processing may take up to 15 business days after the application is complete.  There 
is no expediting of applications under any circumstances. 
 
Renewal of Limited License as a Speech-Language Pathologist 
 
If an individual that holds a limited license as a speech-language pathologist is unable to obtain 
at least 9 months of supervised practice as a full-time limited licensee or obtain the specified 
months of supervised practice as a part-time limited licensee the individual may renew the 
limited license for an additional year. 
 
The renewal form and the $25.00 renewal fee must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the 
expiration of the limited license.  An individual with a renewed limited license is eligible for 
transfer to a full license provided the minimum number of supervised months has been 
completed. 
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If an individual fails to obtain the minimum of 9 months of supervision within the two years of 
limited licensure the individual must wait an additional year after the expiration of the renewed 
limited license before the individual can reapply for a limited license as a speech-language 
pathologist. 
 
Transfer of Limited License to Full License 
 
An individual holding a limited license as a speech-language pathologist will be transferred to a 
full license provided the individual has met all the licensure requirements, the application is 
complete, and the limited licensee has been supervised for at least 9 months.  The Form SA3 
must be received by the Board no sooner than the 9 months of supervised practice ends and no 
later than 60 days prior to expiration of the limited license. 
 
Transfer a limited license to a full license does not require submission of any other documents or 
fees provided the limited license is still valid and unexpired. 
 
The expiration date of the initial full license will be May 31st of the following year. 
 
Continuing Education 
 
Continuing education is a requirement to renew a full license.  The continuing education 
requirement is prorated for most new licensees depending on the issuance date of the full license.  
Information regarding the amount of continuing education required to renew the license is issued 
to new licensees via e-mail and is posted to the Board’s website. 
 
The continuing education requirement for renewing a speech-language pathology license that has 
already been renewed is 30.0 hours in the two calendar years preceding renewal.  The continuing 
education cycle precedes the license cycle.  The continuing education cycle is the two calendar 
years preceding the expiration date of the license. 
 
Continuing education is not required to renew a limited license. 
 
Applicants are advised to do the following: 
 

Keep a copy of this application checklist. 
 
Print a copy of the application for your records. 
 
Provide an e-mail address on the application that is a frequently checked account. 
 
Submit an application form currently in use by the Board. 

 
Applicants are strongly advised the following: 
 

Do not fax the application to the Board. 
 
Do not increase or reduce the size of the application in any manner. 
 
Do not use white-out on the application. 
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Requirements for Clinical Fellowship Year (CFY) 

 
CFY Time Requirements: 
 
The CFY must be started within two years after completion of the academic coursework and 
clinical practicum requirements and must then be completed within 24 months.  The CFY can be 
completed either by full-time or part-time professional employment.  See the requirements on 
this sheet for full-time or part-time professional employment to meet the supervised practice 
requirement. 
 
Full-Time Requirement Is As Follows: 
 

30 or more hours per week for a minimum of 9 months 
 
Part-Time Requirements Are As Follows: 
 

15-19 hours per week – must work a minimum of 18 months 
20-24 hours per week – must work a minimum of 15 months 
25-29 hours per week – must work a minimum of 12 months 

 
At least 80% of the CFY work must be in direct client contact which includes 
assessment/diagnosis/evaluation, screening, habilitation/rehabilitation, and activities 
related to client management. 
 
The Board will not approve a CFY of less than 15 hours per week. 
 
 
Form AS2: 
 
An applicant for a Limited License shall submit a Form AS2, Verification of Supervision for 
Limited License Clinical Fellowship Year, with the application to the Board.  The applicant 
may not begin practicing until the Limited License Application is approved by the Board 
and the license has been issued.  A Limited License authorizes the applicant to practice only in 
the setting and under the supervision of the person specified on the Form AS2. 
 
A change in supervisor and/or employment requires Board approval prior to the limited licensee 
beginning to practice under the new supervisor.  The limited licensee and the new supervisor 
must submit a new Form AS2 to the Board for review. 
 
 
CFY Supervision Requirements: 
 
The supervisor shall provide a minimum of 36 hours of supervisory activities during the clinical 
fellowship year.  Additionally, a minimum of two hours of other monitoring activities each 
month are to be provided by the supervisor. 
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National Examination Score Report: 
 
The Limited License must request a copy of the National Examination, the Praxis Exam, to be 
sent to the Board. 
 
Applicants for a limited license in speech-language pathology are strongly encouraged to contact 
ETS to ensure that the Board can view Praxis score reports via the ETS’ score reporting system. 
 
A copy of the Praxis exam score report is not required to obtain a limited license, but it is 
required to be on file to transfer the limited license to a full license when the supervised practice 
requirement has been met. 
 
 
 
Form AS3: 
 
Upon completion of the CFY (i.e., nine months of supervised practice), the Limited Licensee 
shall submit to the Board a Form AS3, Verification of Satisfactory Completion of CFY, 
completed by the supervisor.  If the CFY was conducted in more than one setting, or under more 
than one supervisor, a separate Form AS3 must be submitted for each setting or supervisor. 


