
Speech-Language Pathologist – Full License 
Application Checklist 

 
I. All Applicants Must Submit: 
 

____ $150.00 Fee (check or money order payable to the Board of SLP) 

____ A recent 2x2 passport size photo 

____ Signed and Notarized Application 

____ Proof of Fingerprinting for Criminal History Records Check 

____ Completed Law and Regulation Examination 

 

Note: Law and Regulations Examination 
 

To pass the open book examination, all applicants must score at least 75. 
You can download the examination from the Board’s web site at 
http://www.dhmh.state.md.us/boardsahs/. 
 
Use the Forms Link to download a copy of the law examination.  To complete the 
examination, refer to the law and regulation reference number included with the question.  
Use the “Statutes & Regulation” link on the Board’s web site (lower right hand corner) to 
access the laws and regulations to answer the questions.  If you do not have access to a 
computer, call the Board office and the examination and a copy of the law and 
regulations will be mailed to you. A license will not be issued unless the Law and 
Regulation Examination is passed. 

 
Note: Criminal History Records Check 
 

Effective October 1, 2016 an applicant for initial licensure must submit evidence to the 
Board of an application for a criminal history records check (CHRC). 
 
Information and forms regarding the required CHRC is on the Board’s Forms page (click 
on Forms in the Quick Links section). 
 
An application for licensure will not be processed until the application is complete, 
including submitting evidence of a criminal history records fingerprint receipt. 
 
All applicants should download, fill out, and print the Board’s pre-filled LiveScan Pre-
Registration Form.  The form has relevant Board-specific information already on the 
form.  This form must be presented to the fingerprinting service. 
 
Application form found on the CHRC resources page on the Board’s website. 
 

http://www.mdboardaudhadslp.org/


In-state applicants and out-of-state applicants near Maryland may go to an authorized 
fingerprinting location in Maryland.  The CHRC resources page on the Board’s website 
provides a link to the Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services’ list of 
authorized fingerprinting locations.   
 
Out-of-state applicants must contact the Board’s administrative assistant at 410-764-4725 
to request an official out-of-state fingerprint card to be mailed directly to the applicant 
before submission of an application for licensure to this Board. 
 
Please note that the CHRC requirement is in addition to answering the disciplinary 
questions in the application. 

 
 
II. Documents To Be Submitted: 

 
If Applicant Holds or Has Held ASHA-Issued Certificate of Clinical Competency: 
 
____ Verification Letter of ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competency (contact ASHA) 
 
____ Brief Resume (if applicant has been practicing more than 5 years) 
 
____ License affidavit from all states in which the applicant is current licensed or has 
ever been licensed 

 
If Applicant Does Not Have ASHA-Issued Certificate of Clinical Competency: 
 
____ Official Masters Transcript 

____ Praxis Exam Scores 

____ Clinical Fellowship Year Plan (Form AS2) 

____ Clinical Fellowship Year Verification (Form AS3) 

 
Continuing Education Requirement Notice 
 

Continuing education is a requirement to renew a license.  Continuing is prorated for 
most new licensees depending on the issuance date of the full license.  Information 
regarding the amount of continuing education required to renew the license is issued to 
new licensees. 
 
The continuing education requirement for renewing a speech-language pathology license 
that has already been renewed is 30.0 hours (clock hours) in the two calendar years 
preceding the expiration date of the license. 


