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Speech-Language Pathology Assistant – Limited License 
Application Checklist 

 
The Board has an open application process.  Applications are processed once the application is 
complete.  An application is considered complete when all of the required materials have been 
received by the Board.  Applicants are strongly encouraged to make a copy of their application prior 
to sending it to the Board.  An individual may only begin practicing as a speech-language pathology 
assistant after receipt of the limited license. 
 
Individuals who have recently graduated (within the past five years) from a Bachelor’s program in 
communications disorders must first obtain a limited license. 
 
I. All Applicants Must Submit the Following 
 
____ $100.00 Non-Refundable Application Fee 

(check or money order payable to the Board of SLP) 

____ A recent 2 inch by 2 inch passport size color photo (attached to first page of application) 

____ Signed and Notarized Application 

____ Official Transcript (Proof of graduation from an acceptable program within the last five years) 

____ Copy of Receipt for Proof of Fingerprinting (Criminal History Records Background Check) 

____ Law and Regulation Examination completed and returned with Application 

 

Note:  Law and Regulation Examination 
 

A minimum score of 75 percent is required to pass the Law Examination.  The Exam can be 
downloaded from the Board’s web site at http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov/boardsahs/.  Use 
the Forms Link to download a copy of the Exam. To complete the Examination, refer to the 
law and regulations reference numbers included with the question.  Use the Law and 
Regulation Links on the web site to review the appropriate statute or regulation.  If you do 
not have access to a computer, call the Board office at 410-764-4725 and request a copy of 
the law and regulations.  A license will not be issued unless the Law and Regulation 
Examination is passed. 
 

Note: Criminal History Records Check 
 

Effective October 1, 2016 an applicant for initial licensure must submit evidence to the 
Board of an application for a criminal history records check (CHRC). 
 
Information and forms regarding the required CHRC is on the Board’s Forms page (click on 
Forms in the Quick Links section). 
 
An application for licensure will not be processed until the application is complete, 
including submitting evidence of a criminal history records fingerprint receipt. 
 

http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov/boardsahs/
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All applicants should download, fill out, and print the Board’s pre-filled LiveScan Pre-
Registration Form.  The form has relevant Board-specific information already on the form.  
This form must be presented to the fingerprinting service. 
 
Application form found on the CHRC resources page on the Board’s website. 
 
In-state applicants and out-of-state applicants near Maryland may go to an authorized 
fingerprinting location in Maryland.  The CHRC resources page on the Board’s website 
provides a link to the Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services’ list of 
authorized fingerprinting locations.   
 
Out-of-state applicants must contact the Board’s administrative assistant at 410-764-4725 to 
request an official out-of-state fingerprint card to be mailed directly to the applicant before 
submission of an application for licensure to this Board. 
 
Please note that the CHRC requirement is in addition to answering the disciplinary questions 
in the application. 

 
 
II. Application for a Limited License as a Speech-Language Pathology Assistant 
 
In addition to items in Section I, submit the following documentation: 
 
A.  Education Requirement 
 
Official transcript from college or university verifying one of the following degrees (applicant must 
have graduated within 5 years prior to application and transcript must be sent directly to the Board): 

 
____ Bachelor’s Degree in Speech-Language Pathology or Communication Disorders 
 
____ Associate’s Degree from an approved SLP Assistant Program 
 
____ Associate’s Degree or higher in an allied health field from an accredited institution 
with minimum course work that includes at least 3 credit hours in normal speech-language 
development; speech disorders; anatomy and physiology of speech systems; language 
disorders; and phonology (Attach Form SA2 describing required minimum coursework as 
stated on transcript) 

 
 
B.  Clinical Hours Requirement (not required if applicant attended an approved SLP Assistant 
program) 
 
Documentation of 25 hours of clinical observation and 75 hours of clinical assistance experience.  
Submit one of the following (either the Form SA3 or the Form SA4): 
 

_____ Form SA3 Education Institution Verification of Completion of Required Clinical 
Hours for applicants that completed the minimum of 25 hours of clinical observation and 75 
hours of clinical assistance experience in the educational institution 
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_____ Form SA4 Alternate Plan for Obtaining Required Clinical Hours signed by applicant 
and Supervising Speech-Language Pathologist.  This form is required if the applicant did not 
obtain any or all of the required clinical hours in the educational program.  Please note: the 
required clinical hours must be completed within 90 days of the issuance of the limited 
license and the Form SA5 must be submitted by the applicant no later than 90 days after 
issuance of the limited license.  Failure to submit the Form SA5 will result in the limited 
license becoming null and void. 

 
C.  Delegation Agreement (Form SA6) completed by each Supervising Speech-Language 
Pathologist  
 

The supervising speech-language pathologist must meet either of the following two conditions: 
 

a) be licensed in the State of Maryland; or 
b) if exempt from licensure in Maryland hold the Certificate of Clinical Competency from 

ASHA. 
 
 
To Be Submitted After Initial Limited License Has Been Issued 
 
If a Form SA4 has been submitted to the Board the Form SA5 is due not sooner than 60 days and 
not more than 90 days after the limited license is issued.  The Form SA5 documents the completion 
of the 25 clinical observation hours and 75 clinical assistance hours.  Limited licensees are 
encouraged to fax the Form SA5 and mail the hardcopy immediately to the Board.  Limited 
licensees are encouraged to call the Board to confirm the Board’s receipt of the Form SA5.  If the 
Board does not receive this form before the date specified in the licensure letter the limited license 
is null and void; the Board will send a notice of a null and void limited license to the individual.  If 
a limited license is null and void the individual would be required to submit another application for 
limited licensure. 
 
The Competency Skills Checklist, Form SA7, is due after 9 months of practice under the limited 
license but no more than 12 months after the limited license has been issued.  If the Limited 
Licensee has more than one supervisor the Limited Licensee must have each supervisor complete a 
Form SA7.  The Limited Licensee is responsible for submitting the Form SA7s to the Board.  If the 
Limited Licensee does not submit the Competency Skills Checklist the Limited License will be null 
and void. 
 
 
 
Notice – Application Processing 
 
An application is considered complete when all supporting documents and fees have been received 
by the Board.  Final processing may take up to 15 business days.  The Board will work with the 
supervising SLP for issuance of a limited license for the anticipated start date.  An individual may 
only begin practicing as a speech-language pathology assistant after receipt of the limited 
license. 
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Renewal of Limited License as a Speech-Language Pathology Assistant 
 
If an individual that holds a limited license as a speech-language pathology assistant is unable to 
obtain at least 9 months of supervised practice as a full time limited licensee, or obtain the specified 
months of supervised practice as a part-time limited licensee, and/or is unable to complete the items 
identified in the Competency Skills Checklist the individual may renew the limited license for an 
additional year.  The renewal form and the $25.00 renewal fee must be submitted at least 30 days 
prior to the expiration of the limited license.  An individual with a renewed limited license is 
eligible for transfer to a full license provided the minimum number of supervised months has been 
completed and the Competency Skills Checklist has been submitted to the Board. 
 
If an individual fails to obtain the minimum of 9 months of supervision within the two years of 
limited licensure the individual must wait an additional year after the expiration of the renewed 
limited license before the individual can reapply for a limited license as a speech-language 
pathology assistant. 
 
 
Transfer of Limited License to Full License 
 
An individual holding a limited license as a speech-language pathologist will be transferred to a full 
license provided the individual has met all the requirements, the limited licensee has been 
supervised for at least 9 months and the supervisor has determined the individual to be competent 
for a full license.  The Form SA7 must be received by the Board no sooner than the 9 months of 
supervised practice ends and no later than 60 days prior to expiration of the limited license.  The 
limited licensee does not need to fill out another application nor does the limited licensee have to 
submit another fee. 
 
 
 


