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Law Section 
 
2-101 1. T/F “Hearing aid” means any instrument or device that is designed for or 

 represented as being capable of improving or correcting impaired human 
 hearing.    

 
2-101  2. T/F Usually, the term "License" includes a limited license? 
 
 
2-301  3.    An audiologist employed in a public or nonpublic school system    
               must be licensed. The exception to this is_________________ 
                                    __________________________________________________ 
 
2-102  4. T/F The Board's statute does not limit the right of a physician to treat the  
   human ear or fit hearing aids. 
 
2-201              5.          T/F Physician members of the board shall vote on proposals that expand or  
                                     restrict the practice of audiology. 
 
2-202  6. Describe the membership composition of the Board. 
   _____ Audiologists                     _____ Speech-Language Pathologists 
   _____ Hearing Aid Dispensers ______ Physicians 
   _____ Consumers 
    
2-202  7. T/F A licensed audiologist, hearing aid dispenser or speech-language 
   pathologist must have at least 5 years of paid work experience to be appointed 
   to the Board. 
 
2-202  8. T/F An audiologist hearing aid dispenser or speech-language pathologist 
   that is licensed in the State of Maryland but lives in Washington, D.C. can be 
    appointed as a Board member. 
 
2-204  9.       T/F At least 1 member of each profession regulated by the Board must be present 
   to have a quorum. 
 
2-301  10. T/F   An audiologist, hearing aid dispenser or speech-language pathologist must  
  be approved by the Board for licensure before beginning to practice even if he 

 or she is practicing under the  supervision of an appropriately licensed person. 
 
. 
2-307              11.        T/F A license to practice audiology authorizes the licensee to practice audiology 
   while the license is effective. 
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2-307 12. T/F Audiologists shall represent themselves by profession and degree earned. 
 
2-308 13. T/F At the time of license of renewal,evidence of each audiometer in use has been  
                              calibrated in the last 12 months must be submitted with renewal application. 
 
                              
2-309               14. T/F The Board may not reinstate a license if the licensee fails to apply                   
                              for reinstatement of the license within 5 years after the license expires. 
 
2-309 15. A Limited Licensee can practice audiology only under the supervision                    

of a fully licensed audiologist. An audiologist may obtain a limited license    
______ time(s) and may renew _______time(s). 

 
2-311  16. T/F Each license shall be displayed in the office or place of employment  
        of the licensee. 
 
2-312               17. T/F The Board shall investigate any alleged violation, issue subpoenas,  
                     administer oaths and examine witnesses. 
   
2-314  18.List five (5) conditions under which the Board may deny a license or a limited 
       license to any applicant, reprimand any licensee or holder of a limited  
       license, place any licensee or holder of a limited license on probation, or 
       suspend or revoke a license or limited license. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2-314.9 19.The Board may impose a monetary penalty of $________ in addition to  
Refer to spending or revoking the license, reprimanding the licensee or 
HB 326 placing the licensee on probation. 
 
2-314.8 20. Other than money, list five (5) items required to be on a hearing aid 
                              receipt. 
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2-314.8            21. T/F A sales contract must list the total refundable amount if a hearing aid 
                              is returned. 
 
2-315 22. T/F The Board’s decisions may be appealed. 
 
 
2-316 23. T/F An order of the Board may not be stayed pending review. 
 
 
2-404               24. T/F A person may not materially alter a license or a limited license 
         with fraudulent intent. 
 
14-2503 25. Under the Hearing Aid Sales Act, cancellation of a purchase   
Refer to       within 30 days entitles the purchaser to a refund of the entire  
Commercial         consideration paid, less 10% for services.  What requirements must the  
Law        seller meet if the seller wishes to retain more than 10% of the purchase?  
        price? 
 
14-302             26. Under the Door to Door Sales Act, what is the length of time a buyer has 
 Refer to                to cancel a transaction without a penalty or obligation? 
Commercial 
 Law 
 
 

Board Regulations 
 
Code of Conduct for Board Members 
COMAR 10.31.01 
.03A (1) 27.T/F A Board member shall recuse himself or herself from the Board  
        proceedings, if the Board member has a conflict of interest or cannot 
        participate fairly and impartially. 
 
Tax Compliance Regulations 
COMAR 10.31.02 
.02B  28.T/F   If a renewal applicant has been identified by the Office of the  
      Comptroller as delinquent in the payment of taxes or unemployment  
                  insurance contributions, the renewal will be denied if verification is not    
       submitted to the Board within 30 days after the notice is issued or before 
       the expiration date of the license. 
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Code of Ethics 
COMAR 10.41.02 
.02C (6) 29.Give three instances in which a licensee would be exploiting  
        individuals served professionally: 
 
 
 
 
 
.02F  30. T/F Sexual misconduct includes sexual harassment of staff or students. 
          
 
 
.03A  31.List four (4) types of statements that a licensee may not include in  
       an advertisement: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
.04H  32. T/F The licensee shall maintain adequate records of professional 
        services rendered and products dispensed and shall allow access 
         to these records when appropriately authorized. 
 
Licensure and Continuing Education  
COMAR 10.41.03 
.06B (4) 33.  If the Board grants an extension of time to obtain the required CEUs,  
                   the Board may require the licensee to obtain, as additional CEUs not more 
        than ________ the number of missing credits in order to renew the license. 
 
Testing Procedures 
COMAR 10.41.08 
 
.08                   34. A hearing test may not be more than _________ old when fitting a new 
                              hearing aid.         
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Civil Penalties 
COMAR 10.41.09 
.04 35. List four (4) of the factors, which the Board shall consider in determining   
        whether to impose a penalty and the amount of the penalty. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
.05  36. T/F All civil penalties imposed by the Board are paid into the 
         General Fund of the State, not into the Board’s Fund. 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 


