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.11 Continuing Education Requirements. 

A. A licensee applying for renewal of a license shall have successfully completed, within the 2-year 
licensing period, a total of 30 hours of Board-approved continuing education programs. Of the 30 
hours, the licensee shall complete: 

(1) 26 or more hours of instruction directly relating to the practice of fitting hearing aids, including the: 

(a) Science of hearing and hearing disorders; 

(b) Structure and function of hearing aids; and 

(c) Psychology of the hearing impaired; and 

(2) Not more than: 

(a) 4 hours of instruction directly relating to managerial aspects of the practice of fitting hearing aids, 
including: 

(i) Good business principles; and 

(ii) Customer management principles; or 

(b) 5 hours of continuing education credit in a single continuing education cycle by attending regularly 
scheduled Board meetings where 1 hour of an open session at a Board meeting equals 1 hour of 
continuing education credit. 

B. A licensee who fails to complete the continuing education requirements within the time frame 
specified under COMAR 10.41.03.06 may be subject to: 

(1) Informal or formal discipline for failure to meet the requirements; and 

(2) A monetary fine not to exceed $250. 

C. Pro Bono Work. 

(1) CEUs may be earned for pro bono work at the rate of 1 Maryland CEU for every 8 hours of Board-
approved CEU activity up to a maximum of 3 CEU credits in any single 2-year period. 

(2) The licensee shall obtain approval from the Board for all pro bono work. 

(3) The licensee shall provide the Board a written description of the proposed work not later than 60 
days before beginning pro bono work. The description shall include: 

(a) The place where the pro bono work will take place; 



(b) The type of work to be performed; 

(c) The number of hours of actual work to be performed for which the licensee desires CEU credit; 

(d) A description of how the work will enhance the licensee's ongoing education; and 

(e) A statement guaranteeing that the licensee will not receive any financial gain from the work 
provided. 

(4) The licensee shall submit a written statement to the Board from the facility verifying the number of 
pro bono work hours completed. 

(5) CEU credit may not be granted for work that did not receive prior approval from the Board. 

D. First-Time Renewal of License. 

(1) Continuing education units shall be prorated for: 

(a) Licensees holding a full license for at least 6 months but less than 2 years during the renewal cycle; 

(b) Newly licensed individuals; 

(c) Individuals seeking reinstatement; and 

(d) Individuals who have been licensed in another state and are seeking licensure in Maryland. 

(2) The Board shall waive all continuing education requirements for a licensee obtaining full licensure 
within 6 months of the beginning of the renewal cycle. 

E. Miscellaneous. 

(1) Continuing education units may not be carried over from one renewal period to the next renewal 
period. 

(2) If the licensee presents evidence to the Board that failure to obtain the required continuing 
education units was due to circumstances beyond the licensee’s control, the Board may grant an 
extension of time to obtain the required continuing education units. 

(3) If the Board grants an extension of time as provided for in §E(2) of this regulation, the Board may 
require the licensee to obtain, as additional continuing education, not more than twice the number of 
missing credits in order to renew the license. 

(4) The Board may reduce or waive the continuing education requirements for an individual under 
extenuating circumstances as determined by the Board. 


